Author Topic: [S] Small and cheap spectrometer calibration source?  (Read 6922 times)

Offline harerodTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • ee - digital & analog
    • My services:
[S] Small and cheap spectrometer calibration source?
« on: April 29, 2021, 10:07:17 am »
Since this is my first post to this section, I should introduce myself. I am a freelance electronics engineer. My work mostly revolves around microcontroller applications for various fields, e.g. medical and lab diagnostics. A couple of years ago, forum member branadic introduced me to EEVBLOG. He did this whilst showing great patience in discussing the basics of metrology via email and telephone to a person whose normal work considers 0.1% accuracy as the ACME of precision.

Last year I worked with Hamamatsu sensors and came across their C12880MA. I liked the device and decided to treat myself by adding a small spectrometer to my lab. I could have bought their eval board, but rather chose to roll my own, using an AD7980 ADC plus STM32F4. The design works quite nicely, at the moment I am writing the Windows software.

Today's question is about a cheap calibration source for the Hamamatsu C12880MA spectrometer module. Although the spectral range of this sensor is given with 340..850nm, even in the visible range the sensitivity varies by about 30%.
My current approach is to use white LEDs and compare their spectrum to the sensor output. I expect quite a bit of variation between devices, though.

I see several ways to tackle this issue:
- could anybody point me towards a small and cheap calibration source?
- would anybody with a calibrated spectrometer be so kind as to run an analysis on a couple of LEDs provided by me? (C512A-WNN / SPMWHT541MP5WATMS0, both available from Digikey)

As far as accuracy is concerned - I have no idea what is possible and at which cost. Anything better than 10% should be great, I guess.

Thanks in advance!