Author Topic: Avoiding newbie mistakes that causes noise  (Read 1116 times)

Offline mendezTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Avoiding newbie mistakes that causes noise
« on: October 08, 2019, 04:26:37 pm »
Hello,

I'm not an electrical engineer, so please go easy on me.

I need to make sure I "avoid" newbie noises in my Hardware. I understand that the arduino might be noise; but I just want to make sure I understand the general rule for properly grounding.

1. My understanding is that is "recommended" to use shield cable if I want to connect an external Sensor and a Micro-controller. But what about the shield wire (or extra GND i call it):

- Do I connect the shield metal wire (SGND) to the GND of the microcontroller? In this case, the Arduino Gnd?

- I have seen PCBS that have a GND and SGND; How do I do make a SGND in the actual PCB?

- If I use the diagram attached (simple temp sensor); where do you connect the SGND from the shield cable if I have a shield cable connected to the sensor?

2. Should I enclose the PCB using Faraday Cage method? Ex. can I enclose the Arduino and this will help avoiding noises?

3. If I'm using sensitive sensors; should I try to avoid using a Laptop? and instead use a PC?

I guess; i need basic tips that can make a big difference when starting to design a PCB from the beginning. Thanks for the help!

Offline lawrence11

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Avoiding newbie mistakes that causes noise
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 05:58:09 pm »
We were all noobies once, and we grew bigger by reading a few pdfs. Coming here to learn about basics is just wasting peoples time.

Its your responsibility to read about proper techniques in the many PDF's that are available online.

TI comes to mind, I studied their documents alot.

But it can be summed up like this, keep ground loop as small/close  as possibl, so a ground plane beneat a trace, and a ground via besides a via.