Author Topic: Automotive relay help  (Read 7123 times)

Offline dbertTopic starter

• Contributor
Automotive relay help
« on: October 17, 2022, 04:17:52 am »
Hello Brain Trust, newbie here.  I have only enough electronics knowledge to cause a lot of damage, so I've come here to see if I can find an answer to a question about the function of an automotive relay I'm having trouble with.

The relay in question came out of a 1989 Ferrari 328.  It is not functioning correctly, and it was made 33 years ago in VERY small quantities.  I have several parts suppliers looking around the world for a replacement, but no one is hopeful that once can be found.  So I'm forced to devise an alternative.  This relay drives a brake pressure pump and is critical to the operation of the braking system.

Most automotive relays are very simple.  A typical one is supplied with battery power on a high current circuit.  Inside the relay is a coil that is energized by an incoming trigger voltage (usually switched).  The coil's magnetic field causes a high current switch to close, which connects the battery power to whatever device is controlled by the relay, like a motor or a lamp.

Usually the relay  coil only has a resistor across it, but the one I'm dealing with has a PCB inside the relay with a PNP transistor and 5 resistors.  It looks like this:

I know this isn't much to go on, but I'm trying to understand the purpose of the transistor in this thing.  If it matters, it's a B327-25.  All that the relay needs to do is close the contact and connect pin 30 to pin 87 when a trigger voltage (12V) comes in on pin 85 (from the car's ignition switch).  As you can see, the emitter is connected to the coil and the collector connects to battery supplied power.

Before I try using a generic $5 relay and possibly damaging something else in the car, can anyone take a guess at what that transistor's purpose is?