Author Topic: How do I use TL494 output: Common emitter or common collector?  (Read 19718 times)

Offline hkBattousaiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I studied TL494 datasheet carefully, but still I can't make sure of one thing (because it is not clearly stated). With what output configuration do I obtain two PWM signal with dead-time between them? Please refer to the schematics below.

Since these two configurations will give out mutually inverse pulse waveforms, one of them will yield proper dead-time while the other one will cause shoot-though. I feel that the correct configuration for my case is the common collector (emitter follower) one, but I need an experienced users confirm to get rid of my worries.

Note: The blocks represented as "Mosfet Driver" turn on their both high and low MOSFETs when their input are high, and vice versa.

Links:
TL494/TL594 Datasheet
Designing Switching Voltage Regulators With the TL494
A Simplified Power Supply Design Using the TL494 Control Circuit

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: How do I use TL494 output: Common emitter or common collector?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2014, 12:06:39 pm »
The emitter side output example provides active-high pulses.

Use example: http://seventransistorlabs.com/tmoranwms/Circuits_2010/12-24_Converter.png
Tim
Seven Transistor Labs, LLC
Electronic design, from concept to prototype.
Bringing a project to life?  Send me a message!

Offline hkBattousaiTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2014, 12:10:56 pm »
I have found another example circuit here.

This one also takes the driving pulses from the emitters.

Offline GK

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2014, 12:17:15 pm »