Author Topic: Project Helios, part 1: Designing and building an active PMT base  (Read 1680 times)

Offline posatomicTopic starter

• Contributor
Introduction

Hello everyone!

I'm new to this forum, I'd like to introduce myself first:
I've been an avid follower of Dave's youtube channel for a few years now, his show is an amazing source of information for people in this field. Most of my hardware designer colleagues follow him and praise him! Keep it up Dave!
I'm one of those weird radiation nutjobs, I've worked at a company that designs radiation detectors, and my previous workplace inspired me to design my own ones.

Now granted, I've been an embedded software engineer at that place, and I could never really scratch that hardware design itch I've always had, so I thought I should keep the stuff fresh that I learned in university, and get a nice hardware project under my belt. It looks nice in a CV to have a hardware design portfolio to go along with your paperwork.

I made a couple G-M counters before, but there's not a whole lot of high-tech stuff going on in there. My next project, that I've been working on for a couple months now is going to be a full-fledged scintillation detector.

My company was very nice to me, they gifted me with a lot of PMTs and scintillation crystals they grew in-house. One of my most prized possessions is this massive Sodium-Iodide crystal with an analog detector shown here:

That's a 2x6 inch NaI crystal used mostly in radiation portal monitors. The resolution was calibrated in-house to be 8.1%, which is rather nice for its size, and more than capable of proper gamma spectroscopy.

I present to you, Project Helios:

My goal is to replace the electronics of this thing with one that I designed from scratch. The first step to get to this would be to have an appropriate divider / pre-amplifier circuit that'll bias the PMT, amplify its output signal and stretch it a little bit.

The "specifications"