Author Topic: Slip Ring  (Read 4008 times)

Offline luiHSTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Slip Ring
« on: November 09, 2019, 12:01:15 pm »

Hi.

Does anyone have experience with the Slip Ring components?
I am designing a Ferris wheel for a scale model, and I need to connect supply and data voltage for lighting effects with digital LEDs type APA102, the ferris wheel will be rotating with a stepper motor or a modified servo. 3 wires, Mass, + 5v and Data are needed.

The only solution I have found is to use these Slip Ring, but it is a component that I have never used before and I don't know how they work and what problems they can give, if they need any maintenance and what durability they have. The signals are low voltage and low current (5v, 600mA).

The ferris wheel is just a drawing, it will has its axis, and spokes, coupled to an electric motor step by step, and with optical sensors to know the position of the baskets. The lighting system is much more complex than what is seen in the drawing, the spokes and baskets will install APA102 digital LEDs, and the circumference of the ferris wheel will be transparent resin with internal LED lighting, and we will try to illuminate it with Laser. It is possible that each basket also installs a sensor to detect when there is a ball in the basket.

Regards.

PD: discarded wireless systems, because that would force to put batteries in the ferris wheel, and replace them every so often, that solution is not viable.

« Last Edit: November 09, 2019, 12:08:36 pm by luiHS »

Offline Marco

• Super Contributor
Re: Slip Ring
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2019, 12:15:07 pm »
No idea about cheap slip ring reliability, but alternatively you could use magnetic coil power transfer and hide a micro in the wheel to drive the leds.

The following users thanked this post: luiHS

Offline jonovid

• Super Contributor
    • JONOVID
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2019, 12:46:26 pm »