Author Topic: Keithley 616 Electrometer input stage replacement  (Read 1247 times)

Offline muvideoTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Keithley 616 Electrometer input stage replacement
« on: March 03, 2023, 07:28:46 pm »
Finally, after several years of service in my home lab, my 616 is dead.
Or to be more precise, I have killed it.

[Boring explanation starting]
Everything started with a stupid accident involving a broken keithley 220
with killer attitude.
Anyway after the first accident I repaired it (fortunately no sensitive electronics were involved)
and I was curious to track some small leackage problems
of the 616. The first was the 10-10A range that was way off.
This problem was solved after cleaning the seemingly already clean 1010Ohm resistor.
Then I started playing with the residual leackage read by the meter, it was measuring
0.3pA with open leads, aiming to understand what was the source of it.
[Boring explanation ending]

Well, I have played too much, I managed to kill Q101 mosfet with a gate perforation.
So I have ordered some 3N163 with the hope to be able to fix the damage

Waiting for them to arrive, I'm playing with some opamps to try to replace all the above circuitry
with something more modern.
This is the schematic I'd like to try, for now I've only tested the principle with bare minimum cimponents,
but I need to test and verify the behavior with the voltage regulators and the zero circuit.
Is there any hope to be able to create a decent electrometer input this way?

« Last Edit: March 03, 2023, 07:40:14 pm by muvideo »
Fabio Eboli.

Offline Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: Keithley 616 Electrometer input stage replacement
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2023, 08:14:38 pm »
The CMOS OP-amp should be OK. The offset trim circuit may not be ideal with unnecessary much dependence on the balance of the +-5 V regulators. Chances are there should be additional resistors (e.g. 1 K) from the pot to ground.

• Frequent Contributor