Author Topic: Dell S2309Wb monitor  (Read 6636 times)

Offline WaveyDipoleTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Dell S2309Wb monitor
« on: March 04, 2018, 06:57:00 pm »
I would like to ask for a bit of help with this monitor (Dell S2309Wb) which failed suddenly a few days ago. It is reasonably modern, manufactured 2009. The failure is manifest by the fact that the monitor switches on, shows the manufacturer logo and then the OS desktop display very briefly - for about 2 seconds - and then switches off.

I have very little experience with LCD monitor repair and when I have looked at one or two in the past the trouble usually related to electrolytic capacitors which were failing due to age. Therefore this is the first thing I checked. All of them - checked out of circuit - seemed to have a very low ESR, well within the expected range.

I am not sure whether to do a blanket replacement of caps or where else to look next? Blanket replacement of caps has not always resolved the problem. I appreciate that the system is comprised of the SMPSU, fluorescent tube drivers and logic board. Since an image is displayed, if only briefly, this tends to suggest that the logic board and inputs are OK. Since it does power up, this also suggests that the SMPSU is OK. So are we looking some sort of tube or inverter/driver failure that is triggering a protecton circuit that is, in turn, causing the SMPSU to shut down? I would point out that when it does light up for that couple of seconds, the display does seem evenly illuminated. I would therefore imagine that all illumination tubes are indeed working.

I think I need a little help with the diagnostic process when dealing with LCD monitors and any comments on how to proceed next would be appreciated. BTW, I haven't found a circuit diagram yet.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2018, 07:01:46 pm by WaveyDipole »

Offline Bratster

• Regular Contributor
Re: Dell S2309Wb monitor
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 07:37:57 pm »
When you say switches off,