Author Topic: Yamaha Receiver RX-V665 switching off - after few min of use  (Read 3822 times)

Offline raghavendra.kTopic starter

Hi,
I am new to to this forum. Please forgive me if I am not following any std practice.

I have a Yamaha Receiver RX-V665 and it is switching off after some time of use. It was working perfectly until last week. I am based in India and the local AC rating is 230V. Since my Receiver is of 110v, I am using a step-down transformer with output varying from 110 to 118v AC. I can hear all the relays being triggered.
Upon getting into DIAG mode, I learnt that the PS1 is causing the issue. The value of PS1 gradually increases above 125, causing the receiver to enter protection mode. If I turn it ON again, for the first few times, the receiver stays ON for couple of minutes and as I switch it ON again and again, the time is shortened to the extent that soon after switching ON, it goes into protection mode. When in protection-BYPASS mode, the PS1 voltage crosses 135. I am aware about the normal reference value is 38 to 128. Since I am not an expert, this doesn't make any sense to me even after going through the service manual. all I know is PS1 Voltage detects: AC_BL, AC_12, AC_5, ±12 and +5V
    Can anybody help me with solving this problem? Where should I start from?
Raghavendra K

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Yamaha Receiver RX-V665 switching off - after few min of use
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2016, 02:32:18 pm »
I would start by using the PROTECTION CANCEL mode as described the the service manual. (keep pressing the TONE CONTROL and PURE DIRECT buttons until the SLEEP indicator flashes.

Then check the output of each of the fixed voltage regulators which pertain to the ±12 and +5V lines especially.

My guess is the -12 volt regulator is failing.

The following users thanked this post: raghavendra.k

« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2016, 05:53:03 pm »
Thanks for the reply Mzacharias.