Author Topic: Strange behaviour of RF circuit  (Read 1544 times)

Offline VulpeculaTopic starter

Strange behaviour of RF circuit
« on: October 01, 2021, 09:13:53 am »
Hi there!

I have an RF circuit which behaves strangely and since I am pretty new to these kind of circuits I need some advice on how to solve or at least narrow down that problem. I have attached a brief overview of the circuit.

The circuit is supposed to receive AIS Data on VHF channels 87B (161.975 MHz) and 88B (162.025 MHz). It does to that, however, only under certain circumstances. It works whenever I attach a simulation device (QK-AT011 AIS Transmission Simulator) directly to the antenna input. In that case I do have a signal and I am able to decode the simulated AIS sentences.

Here is the strange part: I do not receive any signals OTA when attaching a real AIS antenna. But once I start probing around with a spectrum analyzer, I am able to decode incoming messages for as long as my probe is touching the signal path anywhere on the board. Also, it does not matter if the ground of the probe is connected to my circuit or not. (I am using a rather cheap TinySA handheld spectrum analyzer here.)

I tried eliminating different parts of the circuit (e.g. removing the Chebyshev filter or the SAW filter or both and so on) but the problem stays the same. As I said: I am pretty new to RF circuitries and I don't really know what could cause this problem or where I should start looking. Maybe someone out there has some ideas and is able to point me into the right direction.

Thanks and greetings
Vulpecula

Offline TheMG

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Strange behaviour of RF circuit
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2021, 01:39:59 pm »
Could be the receiver front end is being overloaded by a strong signal off-frequency, and the extra loading from the spectrum analyzer is attenuating that down just enough for the receiver to no longer be overloaded.