Author Topic: 50 Ohm feed-through terminator  (Read 10440 times)

Offline jgalakTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • KQ2Z
    • Blog, mostly about learning electronics.
50 Ohm feed-through terminator
« on: December 16, 2017, 02:57:56 pm »
Newbie here.  My scope (Rigol DS1054Z) doesn't have 50 Ohm termination, so I need some external feed-through terminators.  As it's only a 100MHz scope (unlocked), they don't need super high bandwidth, but I do want something that won't create distortion or high SWR.  Can folks recommend something for this application?

Pasternack sells some (https://www.pasternack.com/2-watts-bnc-male-feed-thru-load-1000-mhz-pe6tr000-p.aspx) for about $35 each, Rigol itself has some for $19 each.

And then there's these: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/P7001-2PCS-High-quality-BNC-to-BNC-Female-seat-50KY-50-ohm-matching-device-Q9-adapter/32661228102.html for $4.55 each....

Since I want to get 4, the lower price is tempting, but will they be crap?  Or does it not matter at this bandwidth?

Mostly planning on looking at digital circuits, audio signals, and RF signals below 100MHz.

(note: Yes, I know that I can build them.  I'd prefer not to do so right now.  I need working test gear, not more projects)
Blog, mostly about learning electronics: http://kq2z.com/

The following users thanked this post: tooki

Offline Hydron

• Frequent Contributor
Re: 50 Ohm feed-through terminator
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2017, 03:35:21 pm »
I think there's already a thread about the cheap ones.

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2017, 04:15:41 pm »
Audio signals won't need 50ohms.
Digital signals will only need 50ohms if you are using a "low impedance Z0" "resistive divider" probe. (Which are much better than "high impedance" passive probes, and can be homemade).