Poll

Which of the following would be your choice for a <$5K scope mostly used for audio? Low noise and fast XY mode refresh rate are key.

Keysight DSOX3014T
Keysight DSOX3014A
Rohde & Schwarz RTB2004
Keysight DSOX1204G

Author Topic: Keysight DSOX3014T vs DSOX1204G - is it really worth 3.5 times the money? Vote!  (Read 6589 times)

Offline BussmannTopic starter

Hi,

A noob here. Thinking of getting a new scope for mostly audio use. No need for decoding capabilities. Still use a Tek 2247A that is great for waveform display but not accurate in measurements with anything lower than 100mV.

For the new scope, I will need 4 channels, responsive UI, accurate measurements and a robust build to last a few years. Tried the Rigol, Siglent and even R&S RTB but did not like them: the Rigol layout was busy and distracting, the Siglent encoders were mushy and overshoots most of the time, and the RTB had a strange noise floor. Tried the PC-based stuff too and did not like them not having dials.

So, for a purchase that will need to endure the next 10-20 years, is the 3014T worth the extra money when the 1204G provides most of what it can do for less than 1/3 of the money? Does "you get what you pay for" apply here?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: August 11, 2019, 03:17:01 am by Bussmann »

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Hi,

A noob here. Thinking of getting a new scope for mostly audio use. No need for decoding capabilities. Still use a Tek 2247A that is great for waveform display but not accurate in measurements with anything lower than 100mV.