Author Topic: Measuring transmitter IMD How To's?  (Read 4107 times)

Offline Chris WilsonTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Race car engineer, dog lover, hoarder.
Measuring transmitter IMD How To's?
« on: June 13, 2013, 11:16:53 am »
I run a couple of home built Softrock SDR transceivers and have now connected one to my old Collins valved 30L-1 linear I restored a while back. It now gives about 5 to 8 watts. (WOW! :)) I would like to see what the IMD looks like though, less than one watt with a bit of IMD isn't going to worry many people, but if I up the power I feel obliged to do my best to check the signal is as clean as I can make it. I have a good spectrum analyser, (HP8568B), but I am not very good with it as I worry about blowing it up. I am becoming a bit more confident since getting a pair of DC blocks and some step and fixed attenuators. I also have a biggish 100 watt 30dB attenuator and an adjustable RF coupler. There are software programmes to inject a two tone audio frequency into the SDR transceiver, I think. I believe this is all I might need? So what I am short of is clear instruction as to what to do and how to interpret the results. I believe just looking at the signal on my `scope can be misleading as it may not show IMD well, or at all.

I looked on You Tube and Googled, but found nothing of great use. Can anyone assist please? Thanks.
Best regards,

Chris Wilson.

Offline JackOfVA

• Supporter
Re: Measuring transmitter IMD How To's?
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2013, 11:33:44 am »
Concept is as you say, inject the two test tones in the transmitter and look at the output with a spectrum analyzer.

Obvious things to watch out for ...

1) Test tones must be clean
2) You don't want to blow up the spectrum analyzer input stage, so use the high power 30 dB attenuator. If you are really paranoid (I am when doing these tests at 100 watts output) you can also use an external 10 or 20 dB attenuator at the high power attenuator output ahead of the SA.