Author Topic: SCPI (VISA) query commands with "?" on Rigol DG1032Z AWG  (Read 1675 times)

Offline aharmonyTopic starter

SCPI (VISA) query commands with "?" on Rigol DG1032Z AWG
« on: November 20, 2017, 02:26:02 pm »
Hi everyone!

I'm hoping that someone here might be able to shed some light on the troubles I'm having using SPCI on the Rigol DG1032Z waveform generator. I am new to SPCI, so maybe it is something I am misunderstanding with the syntax I am using.

I've got one one of these Rigol AWGs in the lab (firmware 00.01.12 - most recent) and am having troubles with certain SCPI commands sent to the device. I'm trying to set up some automated data logging with the instrument, but for some reason many of the SPCI commands including a '?' to receive values from the instrument throw the SPCI error "-113 Undefined header".

The instrument connects over VISA(USB) just fine. I can identify the instrument with *IDN? just fine and even send a lot of setting commands to the DG1032z, and they work just fine without error (for example, the setting command COUNter ON to turn on the frequency counter function, or COUN:COUP AC to turn the frequency counter to AC coupling). But for some reason, many of the commands including a "?" that query information from the device all throw Error 133.  :-//

Some "?" commands work, but others do not. For example, COUN:FREQ? does not work, and throws error 113. But COUN:COUP? does indeed return the coupling of the frequency counter function.

Ultimately I am logging data through MATLAB, but I have minimised the SCPI setup for debugging this issue by sending/reading SCPI over VISA(USB) directly with Rigol's Ultra Sigma software. I have also tried with the VISA terminal in Keysight's Connection Expert utility, and the same results are repeated there.