Author Topic: Multimeter techniques for measuring DC Amps, Shunt vs. Feedback Ammeters  (Read 2925 times)

Offline nightfireTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Currently, I am in the process of building my own home lab- that will consist of a working table and some stuff in the corner of my living room and also double as general purpose workbench...
As I am a hobby photographer,  I also have to deal with lots of batteries and charging stuff, and want to do some measurements of batteries and later on also quality of LED Lights (PWM Signals and quality of colour index). In my 9-5 job I work as a system administrator and have a certification to work on standard electric equipment including doing safety checks, so I am expanding my knowledge to the world of electronics and the finer voltages...

Anyway, I am deciding what to put on my long wishlist and then building my small lab around that, so I want to have high-quality stuff, that also can be 2nd-hand.

As I want to check batteries whilst getting charged and discharged including logging, it is clear that basically i will need a multimeter that has a low burden voltage for measuring currents in the range of 100mA-2A.
(Other options would include a shunt and some amplifier like the eevblog µcurrent, that I also will likely explore, but want to focus on a good quality bench DMM first...)

Whilst searching, i stumbled upon the Fluke 8808A, that claimed as a "Feedback Ammeter" it has a drastically lower Burden Voltage than most other DMM in that price range.
So I did some homework and looked for some documentation regarding the differences.
So the technique behind this is clear, in a feedback Ammeter there is an opamp that does not need to have a big voltage drop over a shunt like in most other Multimeters, which is a good thing when the Voltage in that circuit is around 1.4 Volt to charge some NiMh battery...