Author Topic: FLIR T440bx hacking - custom application for Ex/Exx/Txxx cameras, UltraMax  (Read 28472 times)

Offline Vipitis

• Frequent Contributor
  • aspiring thermal photography enthusiast
Great work. I hope the project continues. The best offer for a Txx series I ever found was a T420 for 5000€ + tax. And I can't justify. But I was wondering.
Could you mess with exposure time? That would make astronomy possible.
You wrote about using grid party rendering and superresolution. Would that be similar to the ThermalCamera+ app or something else?

Offline Spirit532Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
    • My website
No, these sensors don't have any low level control - all that is done in the FPGA.
I'm not sure what grid party rendering is, but superresolution is increasing the actual radiometric resolution by 4x(so 320x240 turns into 640x480) by means of supersampling and then deconvolution. I haven't implemented that yet, as I'm not that good with code.

As for the offer - this hack works on all Ex/Exx cameras as well, including the E4-8.

Offline eKretz

• Frequent Contributor
Awesome job! Thanks for the effort. So the UltraMax (assuming this is what you're meaning when you say superresolution) is working or not working? I will try this out tomorrow on my E40.

• Frequent Contributor
    • My website
At the moment, the hack is only capable of outputting a burst of 16 images to the specified folder. There is no post-processing software that would allow you to create final superresolution images yet.

Offline eKretz

• Frequent Contributor
Gotcha. I wonder if there's a way to see how the Tools+ software is doing it for the cameras that are capable and tricking it into working for the others.

• Frequent Contributor
    • My website
I explained that a bit in my article - take a closer look.
The images my hack takes are directly compatible with the UltraMax JPEGs (even)higher end cameras generate, but the formats are different.

Offline eKretz