Author Topic: Can a Hobby Become a Business?  (Read 18881 times)

Offline zeke.Topic starter

• Contributor
Can a Hobby Become a Business?
« on: November 02, 2022, 12:12:36 am »
hello all

I'm curious if there are people on the forum who turned their electronics hobby or some other hobby into a business. Anyone on hear have some stories to share? Just looking for some inspiration to start my own side gig or the reality of chasing your dreams lol

Offline CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
Re: Can a Hobby Become a Business?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2022, 12:21:08 am »
There is another thread on this subject.  The answer is yes, but there is more worth reading.

Offline David Aurora

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2022, 01:18:18 am »
Yep, it definitely can in my experience.

My story was that I was doing electronics as a hobby and kind of out of necessity too. I was a musician/music producer making fuck all money, and aside from always wishing I knew electronics I had also gotten sick of getting way overcharged by shit techs for shoddy work. After fixing some of my own gear and building some of my own designs I started doing the same for family/friends etc, though it was still just a hobby.

Then I changed cities with the intention of getting whatever temporary shitkicking job I could to pay the bills for a few months while I set up a new life and decided what to do next. After a few weeks of job hunting with no luck a friend of a friend here needed a bit of audio gear repaired, and when I did that he sent his bandmate in straight away with more gear (at this point I was working from the kitchen of my shitty little unit). When the phone kept ringing after they spread my name around I rented a tiny workshop a few streets away, then a bigger one, then a better one, and I'm about to come up to 7 years in business here.