Author Topic: Finding ad-hoc/ part-time jobs - suggestions?  (Read 6987 times)

Offline leo938Topic starter

• Contributor
Finding ad-hoc/ part-time jobs - suggestions?
« on: June 15, 2023, 12:41:24 pm »
Hello all,

Has anyone had much success with side gigs using freelancer/ upwork/ fiverr?

I'm interested in working on embedded Linux/ GUI/ Yocto projects as a sideline but rates on a lot of the jobs seem to make it not worthwhile (i.e. less than $15/hr) or there are significant number of bids making it hard to get started. I'm no expert in these areas but persistent enough to see jobs through.

Any suggestions appreciated!

Offline Georgy.Moshkin

• Regular Contributor
  • R&D Engineer
    • Electronic projects, modules and courses on Arduino and STM32
Re: Finding ad-hoc/ part-time jobs - suggestions?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2023, 05:39:37 am »
I do not recommend those for engineering jobs. There are exceptions, but you do not want to learn from ones who won the lottery. You can't easily do high quality satisfying engineering on those platforms, need to pop out something that barely works. This means that you need to be pretty novice to get any measurable satisfaction and drive from those activities. And if you start to aim for any decent level, you probably end up working for 1 USD per hour :-DD You can try harder to search through all those projects, but at some point, it's like trying to become a perfect secretary. Alternative is to start your own business, which means registering company and bank account, payment processing, getting tax consultant, and letting people know your offerings and how much does it cost. And do not limit yourself to "embedded Linux/ GUI/ Yocto", try more ideas.