Author Topic: Would you hire a self taught embedded software developer?  (Read 24237 times)

Offline embeddedguy85Topic starter

• Contributor
Re: Would you hire a self taught embedded software developer?
« Reply #25 on: October 21, 2017, 05:24:19 pm »

There is a fun and still growing area, with a bright future, where you may be able to get your foot in the door, maybe you could specialize in building good, usable web UI's for embedded devices.

I've thought about that but I hate this idea. Web app interfaces for embedded devices? Doesnt that make it vulnerable to attack? Seems like a bad direction to take things.

Online tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
« Reply #26 on: October 21, 2017, 05:36:18 pm »
I learned some Unix and was connecting up to friends systems to get and send emails, which at that time were addressed using chains of exclamation points.

Youngsters today can't believe what was involved in that "bang addressing", so-called since "!" was sometimes pronounced "bang".

The key point is that you (the author) specified the name of each and every mail-forwarding computer the email addressed passed through on the way to the destination. Get one wrong, or if a machine was down, and the email bounced back in your face. That lead to many "interesting" conversations such as "have you tried going via ucbvax; that's pretty well connected and might know about kremvax".

Sometimes the past wasn't so golden!
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Offline cdev

• Super Contributor
  • !
« Reply #27 on: October 21, 2017, 06:14:05 pm »
The "Bang path" it was called..

At various times I was connected via UCSF and also a number of local systems which were run by interesting, colorful people.