Author Topic: CERN's contribution to KiCAD  (Read 88549 times)

Offline elgonzo

• Supporter
Re: CERN's contribution to KiCAD
« Reply #150 on: February 18, 2015, 08:53:45 pm »
I've been using the Ubuntu Software Centre's offering for Kicad (16-Jul-2014 BZR) but am very interested in the CERN advancements.

So two questions:-

a) Can someone point me to a CERN version compiled for Linux preferably with detailed installation instructions?

b) Does anyone with Ubuntu connections know if they intend to offer the new CERN Kicad upgrades any time?

As of now KiCad does not offer stable build (well, they do, but they are rather old).
A stable version with the current feature set is at least several months away.  :=\

More recent builds (based on snapshots from KiCad's source repository) can be found here: http://kicad.nosoftware.cz/
However, the builds offered there are for Kubuntu (i have no idea if it will run on a plain Ubuntu installation).

Build instructions for Linux are found on KiCad's homepage: http://www.kicad-pcb.org/display/DEV/Building+KiCad+on+Linux
« Last Edit: February 18, 2015, 08:55:30 pm by elgonzo »

Offline Dave Turner

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #151 on: February 19, 2015, 12:15:34 am »
Thanks Elgonzo. I'll wait a month or so until the CERN offering is further ahead.

Offline Icchan

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #152 on: February 25, 2015, 11:20:20 pm »

Just a point - the Kicad developers don't believe in "official" or "stable" releases.

There is a "stable" development branch in their Launchpad repository but it has not been updated since January.

If they wanted to get more users (not more hackers/developers) they would believe in those. And as such they can't get it as an accepted tool for industry since it doesn't want to be. And since it doesn't want to be a tool for industry it doesn't get more support from industry in form of code / donations. (Industry needs functioning tools and stable releases that they can do work on)