Author Topic: Help sorting out libries, symbols and footprints  (Read 4887 times)

Offline ilium007Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Help sorting out libries, symbols and footprints
« on: July 17, 2021, 12:41:33 pm »
I've been playing around with KiCAD for a few years now and mainly using the standard libraries along with some symbols and footprints I have had to make myself. I saw a YouTube video a while back where the person used a different approach... he copied each symbol to his own symbol library and then duplicated for each value of that component used ie. every resistor value had its own symbol. I can see this being useful in that I buy SMD parts by the 100, its a good chance that I will always use the same 10k resistor with the same datasheet, footprint, manufacturer part number, source link etc etc. It seems that it would be useful to have all this info entered once into the symbol fields instead of having to enter it for each project if I were to use the default library symbol. Each symbol then had some smaller text that contained relevant data for the circuit.

Not sure if this makes sense. I can't find that YouTube video that got me thinking about using this process. How do others make use of the default library symbols? I am about to get serious in my use of KiCAD and want to make the right decisions up front so I don't to go and rework schematics if I change my mind later.

Offline PlainName

• Super Contributor
Re: Help sorting out libries, symbols and footprints
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2021, 04:27:45 pm »
Let's say you have a separate symbol for every E24 resistor value, perhaps also a set to cover 1/8W and 1/4W. Does the footprint count in this? OK, so you have another lot of symbols for 0603, 0402, PTH. That's a lot of symbols, but you only have to do it once.