Author Topic: how does Kicad simulation compare to LTspice?  (Read 15809 times)

Offline vixoTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
how does Kicad simulation compare to LTspice?
« on: July 09, 2021, 10:09:41 am »
I'm just starting out simulating with Kicad and I am wondering whether my time is better spent simulating in LTspice? What are the performance differences between the two? I want to simulate audio frequency circuits with a lot of filtering and potentiometer controls. I haven't got any experience with using simulators and I don't know their limitations (I always assumed they'd be useless after using a bad one years ago and never going back to it)

I use Kicad for layout so it would be the easiest thing to use it for the simulation aswell.

your thoughts?

The following users thanked this post: Electro Fan

Offline firewalker

• Super Contributor
Re: how does Kicad simulation compare to LTspice?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2021, 10:16:18 am »
LTspice is the industry standard. It is around for decades with a well established reputation and a huge base of models and documentation. I would stick with it.

Available for Windows, MAC and GNU/Linux (via WINE).

Alexander.
Become a realist, stay a dreamer.

The following users thanked this post: Warhawk, vixo

Offline PKTKS

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2021, 02:48:16 pm »
I have an alternate vision of this...

dealing with SPICE since early 80s...
I must say that SPICE is de facto the standard.

LTSPICE is BIASED to their own proprietary and encrypted models.

Unless your are really in need of using some os these...
you will be far more provided with PSPICE models (de facto standard)

NGSPICE (in which KiCAD is based) is a re-write of SPICE
suited to modern usage. (while SPICE was intended to mainframes)

LTSPICE is totally BIASED to their products.
Their models are encrypted

Paul

The following users thanked this post: Electro Fan, vixo, Trader

Offline esepecesito

• Regular Contributor