Author Topic: How to edit the schematic templates - the lower right corner?  (Read 3768 times)

Offline BentaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
How to edit the schematic templates - the lower right corner?
« on: August 06, 2020, 09:55:33 pm »
I'm new to KiCAD/Eeschema, but have previous extensive knowledge from other EDA software.

But how do I edit the Eeschema template?

I've found no way of doing this in KiCAD. I basically want to modify the lower-right-corner text box in the schematic editor to contain information of my choice and my style.

I'm running KiCad 5.1.6, Lubuntu 20.04.

Can someone point me in the right direction, please?

Thank You.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2020, 09:59:17 pm by Benta »

Offline apurvdate

• Contributor
Re: How to edit the schematic templates - the lower right corner?
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2020, 04:37:41 am »
Did you notice the Sheet icon on Kicad project browser? Create & save the layout as you want.
You can import it in esschema or pcbnew in Page settings - 3rd icon in top row.
In Page settings dialog select layout description file at bottom.

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2020, 09:35:23 pm »
Thank You.

Unfortunately, that's not what I was looking for. I was looking for:

1: a way to customize the Eeschema templates permanently. I've found suitable templates in /usr/share/kicad/template, but have no idea how to use them. They are neither available when opening a new project or a new schematic. I want to be able to use them in Eeschema.
2: it is totally unclear how to set up a default template for Eeschema. It appears to be /usr/share/kicad/template/pagelayout_default.kicad_wks but replacing this file brings no change.
3: when opening a new project from templates, I get a load of "Arduino" etc. templates, which are 1000% uninteresting to me.

I've searched through the kicad directory tree looking for settings files. The KiCad GUI interface and menus do not contain anything useful.