Author Topic: KiCad 5.99 trace length tuning  (Read 4904 times)

Offline Mario87Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
KiCad 5.99 trace length tuning
« on: October 14, 2021, 06:54:15 pm »
Hi all,

Already asked on the KiCad forums but got no response, so hoping someone here can help. I am Pretty new to KiCad, but have used other EDA tools previously. First time I am using KiCad to tune trace length. Had it set to tune each track to 12mm and it appeared to work fine, but the strange thing is if I click on the “tuned” traces with the tool after I set the length required, it then tells me the trace is longer or shorter than specified.

Example in the attached image, this trace was set to 12mm give or take a about 0.05mm but now it is “Too Long” and 0.8mm out of spec.

What is going on here? Is it me, or just a bug in 5.99? Full version I am using is: (5.99.0-11663-g8172737d6f), release build.

Thanks

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: KiCad 5.99 trace length tuning
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2021, 07:42:55 pm »
With the rather fine wiggles in a relatively thick trace it is not that obvious on how to define the actual lenght. There may be different methods used to calculate the length and 1 or both may be wrong.

Offline Mario87Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2021, 09:14:39 am »
True, but I do suspect there is a bit of a bug in KiCad and the reason I say that is sometimes when I had the straight traces (before tuning the length) it would show as being 16mm long, but if I deleted the trace then made an identical new one it would magically become 10.2mm long and I could then do proper tuning of the trace length.

Think I will just use it as-is and hope for the best, it's just an expansion board for my FPGA dev board, so not an issue to re-spin if I need to, but I do hope KiCad fix this issue. Might actually download the latest nightly build and see if it's any better as this one is a couple of months old now I believe.