Author Topic: KICAD and dual monitors  (Read 7115 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline PKTKS

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1308
  • Country: br
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #50 on: July 07, 2021, 05:02:20 pm »
No my dear...

IT IS A WHOLE DIFFERENT SYSTEM ...
New glibc  new boost  new everything..

It is a whole environment as said

100% safe thing

Running on the same workstation..
SYSTEMD FREE and far from wayland mess

I deal with 8 KiCAD versions... 4 stable wxGtk branches
and **ONE** a single one unstable entry system.

Currently working under GCC10 LLVM12 MESA 20 and boost 1.76

Paul

« Last Edit: July 07, 2021, 05:04:36 pm by PKTKS »
 

Offline Monkeh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 7266
  • Country: gb
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #51 on: July 07, 2021, 05:05:59 pm »
And that's all irrelevant, because the end result is you have another instance of a program operating on a different file. The rest is unnecessary, and it has nothing to do with systemd or Wayland. You could use the exact same binaries running in a chroot or any other form of container to achieve your isolation, and the isolation isn't even needed because they are different files.

Your use-case of running multple different versions of the software is not relevant to the thread. Your hatred of systemd, Wayland, or any other piece of software is not relevant to the thread.

In the current state of KiCAD there are two simple methods to gain a limited second view of a PCB or schematic:
  • Disable autosaves, remove the lock files, and run a second instance (dangerous).
  • Make a second copy of the project and open it with a second instance of the tool (safe enough).

Your method is the second with additional complications fueled by other specific requirements and/or your own desires.
« Last Edit: July 07, 2021, 05:09:34 pm by Monkeh »
 

Offline PKTKS

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1308
  • Country: br
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #52 on: July 07, 2021, 05:09:04 pm »
And that's all irrelevant, because the end result is you have another instance of a program operating on a different file. The rest is unnecessary, and it has nothing to do with systemd or Wayland. You could use the exact same binaries running in a chroot or any other form of container to achieve your isolation, and the isolation isn't even needed because they are different files.

Your use-case of running multple different versions of the software is not relevant to the thread. Your hatred of systemd, Wayland, or any other piece of software is not relevant to the thread.

If that makes you happy... ok

all is irrelevant... 

unless that I fetch them from the the same  NAS server  every time
I start to deal with versioning... alas.. they are instantly checked in
and automatic checked out... upon use.

thanks to PERL mods to CVS or SVN

Paul
 

Offline PKTKS

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1308
  • Country: br
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #53 on: July 07, 2021, 05:19:07 pm »

Your hatred of systemd, Wayland, or any other piece of software is not relevant to the thread.


Nah.. none hatred at all..

I made a MINT system to my 6y old nephew play games..
That is exactly made for him..

POTTERIX systems are for that kind of use.

he just loves it..  :popcorn:

Me too watching his grin  ^-^
Paul
 

Offline Zero999

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 16277
  • Country: gb
  • 0999
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #54 on: July 08, 2021, 01:19:57 pm »
And that's all irrelevant, because the end result is you have another instance of a program operating on a different file. The rest is unnecessary, and it has nothing to do with systemd or Wayland. You could use the exact same binaries running in a chroot or any other form of container to achieve your isolation, and the isolation isn't even needed because they are different files.

Your use-case of running multple different versions of the software is not relevant to the thread. Your hatred of systemd, Wayland, or any other piece of software is not relevant to the thread.

If that makes you happy... ok

all is irrelevant... 

unless that I fetch them from the the same  NAS server  every time
I start to deal with versioning... alas.. they are instantly checked in
and automatic checked out... upon use.

thanks to PERL mods to CVS or SVN

Paul

Please allow the forum software to wrap your posts, rather than adding needless line breaks, which make your posts difficult to read. If you prefer shorter lines, just resize the window. Please don't inflict it on everyone!
 

Offline PKTKS

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1308
  • Country: br
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #55 on: July 08, 2021, 03:37:09 pm »
You are not the first bugged w that

Sometimes i read forum w cup coffe and cel
. Gez  my fingers can barely fit screen


This size is typical to break.......................

Otherwise i can not use this f* cel

I will try the best

Paul
 

Offline f4eru

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 819
  • Country: 00
    • Chargehanger
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #56 on: July 11, 2021, 08:00:30 pm »
Guys, please calm down. No need to make a war between graphical lib packages.

There is an easy way to achieve this dual monitor though :
simply use the 3D viewer for the global view, and position it so as to see approx the 2D board.
You can improve the view with transparency of the substrate, and other graphical settings.
 
The following users thanked this post: nfmax

Offline dunkemhigh

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3406
Re: KICAD and dual monitors
« Reply #57 on: July 11, 2021, 08:15:50 pm »
Quote
simply use the 3D viewer for the global view

That's a pretty good solution  :-+

It doesn't update as you make changes, but a quick click in that window forces an update, so it's not that difficult to periodically do that. Gosh, if only Altium had a separate 3D window...
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf