Author Topic: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD  (Read 13806 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« on: March 03, 2011, 06:11:28 pm »
Well I'm chewing through KiCAD and have completed a board in it however I cannot get one of the parts to be included in the ratsnest. This is my LM78L05 of all parts, the symbol has pin numbers on it and so does the footprint, I've rebuilt the netlist and rerun board connectivity but nothing. I was successful on my SOT-323 parts but not the TO92, why ?
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2011, 07:13:15 pm »
You could post the project, if you want, and I would try it.

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2011, 07:47:01 pm »
might be worth a try, ultimately I need to know the solution as it looks like I'll be having a lot of this (until they get it sorted out and works more seamlessly). Which files would you need ? might be easier to email them
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Zero999

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 13193
  • Country: gb
  • 0999
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #3 on: March 03, 2011, 09:10:28 pm »
If you attach the files more people can help.

I've not done a PCB for awhile but I can't remember KiCad being that hard to use. I remember thinking last time you should give software more of a chance before giving up and I'm glad you have. Often better software with more features takes longer to learn than simple software with less features.
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2011, 07:47:05 am »
KiCAD has an option to "archive" projects, you can use it and it will pack all of the necessary files of the project.

Online djsb

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 579
  • Country: gb
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #5 on: March 04, 2011, 11:35:10 am »
First of all the module T0220_VERT has the pin numbers in the wrong order. Change around the position of pin 1 and pin 2 and put pin 3 where pin 1 was originally. The pin order should now be pin 1 at the top, then pin 2 then pin 3 with the tab to the right. For the schematic symbol (LM7805) VI is pin 1, GND is pin 2 and VO is pin 3. These can be edited in the library editor (pin names are set to VI, GND and VO by default). Try setting the pin names AND pin numbers to the same value. Try this and if you need more help ask away.

David.

P.S Here is the datasheet

http://www.fairchildsemi.com/ds/LM/LM7805.pdf
« Last Edit: March 04, 2011, 11:40:37 am by djsb »
David
Hertfordshire,UK
 University Electronics Technician, London PIC,CCS C,Arduino,Kicad, Altium Designer,LPKF S103,S62 Operator, Electronics instructor.  http://debuggingrules.com/ Give a man a fish and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime.
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #6 on: March 04, 2011, 10:09:12 pm »
Yea I did have to redo the TO-220 pin numbers.

I can't set the pad names (net names) it tells me it's an unknown net name, the project files are attached, feel free to play, the part is at the bottom of the board in the middle
« Last Edit: March 05, 2011, 08:33:38 am by Simon »
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #7 on: March 04, 2011, 10:10:53 pm »
If you attach the files more people can help.

I've not done a PCB for awhile but I can't remember KiCad being that hard to use. I remember thinking last time you should give software more of a chance before giving up and I'm glad you have. Often better software with more features takes longer to learn than simple software with less features.

they have made some improvements in the later version. but this package still has some maturing to do. The autoroute function via an external service is pretty good too.
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2011, 07:03:59 am »
You have in Eeschema: VI, Vo, GND for the pinout, and 1,2,3 in the PCB module. They must be identical, so edit the module and rename de pins to VO, VI and GND.

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2011, 07:43:22 am »
Well I also have the [pins numbered in eschema so what is going on ? when I try to name the pins in PCBnew it refuses to let me do it. Are you saying I need to replace the pin numbers with pin names ?
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #10 on: March 05, 2011, 08:33:09 am »
ok did it and it works ! good job edonork. I still can't understand though why I'm replacing pin numbers with pin names. Oh well I suppose one of those things that they need to iron out.
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 

Offline ElektroQuark

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 1217
  • Country: es
    • ElektroQuark
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #11 on: March 05, 2011, 01:05:34 pm »
Well, pin names do not need to be numbers ;)

Offline Simon

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 13942
  • Country: gb
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
Re: linking symbols to footprints in KiCAD
« Reply #12 on: March 05, 2011, 01:57:18 pm »
yes but in this case the field does specificly say pin num. and i went to lengths to ensure that the eschema symbol had pin numbers. Why it did this i have no idea. The thing is footprints have standardised pin number orders usually
https://www.simonselectronics.co.uk/shop
Varied stock of test instruments and components including EEVblog gear and Wurth Elektronik Books.
Also, if you want to get ripped off: https://www.ebay.co.uk/usr/simons_electronics?_trksid=p2047675.l2559
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf