Author Topic: Creating a component with multiple, non-identical Units  (Read 5926 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jimh12

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Creating a component with multiple, non-identical Units
« on: May 05, 2016, 12:38:37 am »
Can someone who is familiar with Kicad Library editor instruct me on how to create a component (a ARM processor in this case) with three individual , unique sections? I have a Unit A, Unit B and Unit C. If I edit Unit B it impacts what I have already done on Unit A. I want the Units to just be sections of the same ARM processor. I am doing this to be able to put the sections on different pages of the schematic.  Thanks,  jimh12
« Last Edit: May 05, 2016, 09:50:36 am by jimh12 »
 

Offline Wilksey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1153
Re: Creating a component with multiple, non-identical Units
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2016, 11:22:31 am »
Aye,
When creating a new component, in the component properties window, check the "Units are not interchangeable" option.

Say on unit A you draw a rectangle, and add a few pins, then go to unit B, the rectangle remains but the pins are no longer there, allowing you add different pins.

Now, say you wanted to make a new rectangle, and not have the one from unit A on unit B or C.
Go back to unit A, right click on the rectangle and select "Edit Rectangle Options", this will bring up a properties window, there will be a section called "Sharing" and there will be an option "Common to all units in component", this will be checked, if you un-check this it should allow you to create different graphics for units B and C.

HTH!
 
The following users thanked this post: jimh12, liteyear

Offline jimh12

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Creating a component with multiple, non-identical Units
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2016, 10:35:08 pm »
 :-+Fantastic.... thanks for the reply, your instructions worked and I should have posted my inquiry three days ago.  Thanks again.   :-+
 

Offline Wilksey

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1153
Re: Creating a component with multiple, non-identical Units
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2016, 02:34:00 pm »
Not a problem.

Welcome to the forum!
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf