Author Topic: PCB front panel from other PCB  (Read 5894 times)

Offline UHFTopic starter

• Contributor
PCB front panel from other PCB
« on: February 03, 2020, 07:23:31 am »
Hello, I'm new to PCB design and KiCad. I have a PCB with components and controls (lots of pots and a small display) and I want to make another PCB front panel to go on top. The idea is to get them from someone like JLC, with some of the SMD components fitted. My question is - how can I create the PCB front panel with the cut-outs in the correct place from the component PCB underneath? Is there a workflow in KiCad or some other way that would ensure alignment without hassle when changes are made. I use Fusion 360 as a hobbyist and was eyeing Eagle and it's integration, but I've got a KiCad design currently.

Many thanks.

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
Re: PCB front panel from other PCB
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2020, 07:30:15 am »
My method was to save-as the orignal PCB, use that to mark up the correct cutouts etc on a drawing layer, start deleting all the components and traces once done

Then exported the front panel as a VRML, and added that to the first project as a 3D model for a random part, so every time I updated and re-exported, it updated on the original project 3D viewer,

As I don't use other 3D tools, it was a quick way to make sure everything lined up.

The following users thanked this post: UHF

Offline aix

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2020, 07:56:33 am »
I use a combination of:
  • sketching board outlines in Fusion and exporting them into KiCad (note that it's very easy to export your component board from KiCad into Fusion to use as a starting point);
  • use "Append Board" feature in KiCad to append the component board to the front panel board, and then delete/clean up what I don't want.

Offline UHFTopic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2020, 08:52:48 am »