Author Topic: Problems getting to grips with Kicad  (Read 4542 times)

Offline SpecmasterTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Problems getting to grips with Kicad
« on: February 03, 2019, 01:57:41 am »
I just downloaded this program so I can learn how to drive the bloody thing and start making boards etc. This is my first time with this type of software although I do know how to use AutoCad.

I'm running Windows 10 64bit, and I downloaded the latest stable version 5.0.2 and printed out the document Getting started in Kicad only to find it does not appear to be referencing V5.0.2 at all as in many places it tells me to this and that and and insert a part and then it shows what the part should look like on screen but it looks nothing like it at all.

In other parts of the document it instructs me to click on preferences, then select Manage Symbol Libraries except that option is not present in the drop down menu.
I'm beginning to pull what little hair I have left and I'd rather not do that, its so cold lately  ;)

I uninstalled V5.0.2 and installed v4.0.0 thinking maybe that the tutorial document might be written with that version in mind...er no it wasn't so I'm no further advanced with this program which so annoying as I watch a video and it seems to be pretty powerful and yet I'm struggling on the tutorial.

Can anyone actually tell me which version I should using to learn on and also provide me a link to the correct tutorial notes that refer to that version please?  :-//
Who let Murphy in?

Brymen-Fluke-HP-Thurlby-Thander-Tek-Extech-Black Star-GW-Avo-Kyoritsu-Amprobe-ITT-Robin-TTi

Offline Microcheap

• Regular Contributor
Re: Problems getting to grips with Kicad
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2019, 03:51:33 am »
There is a tutorial series on youtube sponsored by digikey that I found very useful and help me get started with kicad, you can just skip the annoying intro:

https://youtu.be/vaCVh2SAZY4