Author Topic: buried bias and power planes v/s old fashion IC power  (Read 5289 times)

Offline MorgorothTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
buried bias and power planes v/s old fashion IC power
« on: March 15, 2016, 03:06:30 am »
I just send a budget for a PCB that have tons of buried bias (never done it before) and are WAY more expensive than a regular PCB, and with regular I mean draw tracks to power chips and stuffs, and not getting the power from power planes.

I did it because the specifications for RF chip recommend some 4 layer PCB as best, and impedance matching for RF tracks for certification later (CC3200MOD).

There is a way to manage the buried bias and not get plucked on the process ?, o a better alternative not so expensive ?

I have no experience on this, so any tip is welcome.

Thanks.
----------------------------------------------------------
If works, doesn't means it is right.

Offline JJalling

• Supporter
Re: buried bias and power planes v/s old fashion IC power
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2016, 10:38:24 am »
Can't you just make the vias go all the way through the PCB, instead of burying them? Or am I misunderstanding the question?

BR Jonas

Offline dmills

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 15, 2016, 10:44:01 am »
Edge rates these days mean that my default starting position is 4 layers (Two layers is only for almost literally DC power and smallish audio things and even then....).

Buried via is insanely expensive, sometimes you have to, but on anything you can reasonably route in 4 layers you should be able to avoid it.

4 Layer is pretty much the minimum for acceptable performance if the board is even slightly non trivial, and should not add that much to the cost if you are doing a reasonable sized run (There is rather more setup involved).