Author Topic: Help with a problematic board layout  (Read 1207 times)

Offline qpit3aTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Electronics hobbyist.
    • Not really about trains
Help with a problematic board layout
« on: September 22, 2022, 10:43:37 pm »
Hi,

I have made a board that is a a pre-amp for a frequency counter.  I am a beginner at board layout however I thought this would be simple as it's only meant to work up to 20Mhz, not so.  What happens is that when I power this board up I get switching noise in the input (I think) from either the comparator or the op-amp which means the board itself is causing interference which defeats the hysteresis I set on the comparator.  Note the comparator feedback is now about 400k. Any suggestions what I should do?   
Note I have modified the schematic a bit and so the PCB now has a few mods.

Thanks for any help.

Updated to put correct schematic, pcb layouts...
« Last Edit: September 23, 2022, 02:16:47 am by qpit3a »
Peter Cupit

Offline Ghanou

• Contributor
Re: Help with a problematic board layout
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2022, 07:59:40 am »
why would you use the highly accurate GPS signal as a reference clock, just to to end up bodging it up with screw terminals  :palm: , doesn't make any sense. its like buying a rolls royce just to equip it with a 15 inch chinese tires. screw terminals are for power not for signals, this was my first observation.
however i don't think it is what's causing the switching noise, is it only on the inputs? and not on other signals as well, because that might be an indication that it's coming from the power supply, which you have not provided any information about.
edit: what is the frequency of the switching?

The following users thanked this post: qpit3a

• Contributor
  • Electronics hobbyist.
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2022, 09:42:39 am »