Author Topic: Making a connection to the EPAD on a 144 pin TQFP after it's been fitted!  (Read 5338 times)

Offline deephavenTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • Civilization is just one big bootstrap
    • Deephaven Ltd
I've been a bit silly. I changed assemblers and forgot to issue the new assember with a solder paste mask. As a result, they manually assembled my boards including fitting the Altera EP3C5E144C8N. Unfortunately, this means that the EPAD underneath the chip has not been soldered.

From this undesirable state, what is the best course of action to remedy this situation? Would it be feasible for them to remove the chip, apply solder paste to the EPAD, and then apply heat to the chip with a hot-air gun?

I have 20 boards in this state!

Offline Balaur

• Supporter
Re: Making a connection to the EPAD on a 144 pin TQFP after it's been fitted!
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2011, 04:15:01 pm »
Although I know my way in assembling, I'm not an expert so please take my comments with a bit of salt.

(For this type of configuration, you would normally plan an array of vias or even larger hole(s) underneath the chip in order to allow for an easy assembly
or reworking. Of course, it doesn't help you right now...)

First, while I know that the EPAD should be connected to GND, are you sure that it has an electrical purpose?

If non, then it's only used for heat dissipation? Do you actually need it? If not, you could reasonably forget about this.

Otherwise, if you are really sure that you need to proceed, the correct procedure could be the following:
- remove the chip using a hot air station with an adequate nozzle
- put some solder paste on the PCB pad
- re-solder everything