Author Topic: Need good resource for PCB traces  (Read 6912 times)

Offline aalbriTopic starter

• Contributor
Need good resource for PCB traces
« on: September 13, 2013, 02:05:26 am »
Hey guys.

What are your favorite resources for determining PCB trace width, distances, pad sizes, etc? I am new to designing PCBs and want to learn the 'standards' or at least the right way to do things.

Offline kizzap

• Supporter
Re: Need good resource for PCB traces
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 03:52:08 am »
Proper way:

-kizzap
<MatCat> The thing with aircraft is murphy loves to hang out with them
<Baljem> hey, you're the one who apparently pronounces FPGA 'fuhpugger'

Offline Falcon69

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2013, 02:24:59 am »

Offline Neilm

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2013, 04:14:05 pm »
I use a programme called MiscEL, available at http://www.miscel.dk/MiscEl/miscel.html

It not only has PCB trace calculators but many other useful bits (simple circuits, heat calculators, serial string decoder and much more)
Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the the universe. - Albert Einstein
Tesla referral code https://ts.la/neil53539

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2013, 02:56:29 am »
IPC2221. that is the gold standard
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).

Offline John steave

« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2013, 05:01:34 pm »
I like the pcb trace site for better understand and performance. So far as i know it's good for all other pcb manufacturing goods. http://actpcb.com/Printed-Circuit-Board-PCB-Manufacturing-Capabilities
I’m not recommending but perhaps you could check out this area. 

Offline WarSim

• Frequent Contributor
Need good resource for PCB traces
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2013, 06:25:24 pm »