Author Topic: Tearing my hair out with a Chinese PCB company  (Read 4248 times)

Offline peter-hTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Doing electronics since the 1960s...
Tearing my hair out with a Chinese PCB company
« on: October 25, 2021, 05:01:11 pm »
I've been buying a panel, 32 circuits on it, for many years.

The last company, China, ran for ~ 5 years and then vanished.

I found another. I sent them the gerber data, and for avoidance of any doubt I sent them by DHL a panel of the existing (production/assembly tested) board.

The idea is that they test the existing sample panel against the gerber data, to make sure there is no mis-interpretation of the data.

But they didn't get this at all.

After many emails, dealing with poor English, I agreed to pay USD 200 for them to make 1 panel from my gerber. They could then test that panel, and immediately test my sample panel, and if they both pass then obviously the two panels are electrically identical :)

No joy...

3 months and many emails later, no progress. It sort of appears that their panel probably does test ok. But they just don't get the principle of testing both panels to the same data.

Is there some other interpretation on this saga?

Z80 Z180 Z280 Z8 S8 8031 8051 H8/300 H8/500 80x86 90S1200 32F417

Offline mc172

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Tearing my hair out with a Chinese PCB company
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2021, 05:21:49 pm »
Can you get them to send you back your original sample and a production sample and test them yourself?

Offline thinkfat

• Supporter
  • This is just a hobby I spend too much time on.
    • Matthias' Hackerstübchen
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2021, 05:31:45 pm »
That's a tedious process. It'd be much easier if they ran both panels through their flying probes machine.

But this ordeal has only one conclusion: you cannot possibly work with this manufacturer.
Everybody likes gadgets. Until they try to make them.

The following users thanked this post: Bassman59