Electronics > Manufacturing & Assembly

using scrapbooking stencil cutters for inexpensive stencil makers?

(1/2) > >>

naimis:
I've been wondering about what it takes to do solder paste stencils.  I've seen some offerings for pretty low cost, I admit, but do any of you make your own?  Could you do something like use a scrapbooking stencil cutter machine with overhead transparency sheets to make solder stencils?  Granted I haven't done a lot of digging here and at $400 for the cutter it sounds like you'd have to make a lot of stencils to justify it...

here's some examples of what I was talking about http://www.scrapbookscrapbook.com/scrapbook-die-cut-machines-info.html.  I figured someone might have already given some thought about it.

Edit: I should probably qualify this by stating that I have zero experience with using solder paste or stencils.  All the soldering I've ever done has been by hand.

naimis:
Okay, I just ran across this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=HfSpRO1WGVk#t=394s from the Melbourne mini maker faire and it looks like what I'm talking about - a compact personal stencil cutter.  However, I haven't been able to find any relevant links to a "squarebit" - just pages and pages of Robertson drivers.  Can anyone identify the equipment there and/or its purpose?

amspire:
The cost is hard to justify. If you have that budget, you can  probably afford to order laser cut stencils.

0.005" gauge brass shim (.127mm) is pretty cheap - I bought a roll of 6" x 100" for $20 or $30 - I cannot remember the exact cost now.

Then you can etch it like PCB's to make a solder paste stencil. Use a toner transfer on one side. mask the other side and etch in PCB etchant.

metalphreak:
I think I saw this mentioned on hackaday or somewhere in passing. General consensus was its not worth it unless you already have a machine kicking around.

Jon Chandler: