Author Topic: Why are castellations so expensive and are they really what i think they are?  (Read 11725 times)

Offline RefrigeratorTopic starter

• Super Contributor
I need to order some boards that have castellations on both opposing edges but whenever i click the castellation option the price jumps through the roof.
For example if i go to JLCPCB and click on castellation option the price jumps from 2 bucks to over 40  :o
Same with any other PCB fab service i've checked, at least the ones that have the castellation option.
The only time such a price hike happens is if i choose the gold plating option, so do they gold plate castellations? Is that why the price goes up so much?
Personally i don't need gold plating because the castellations are for soldering so regular tin plating is fine. Can i just leave my vias and let them chop through them with their router? Will that work?

Also this is my first time ordering a PCB* so i'll include a pic of what the board looks like, please point out if you see anything obviously bad  ;)
It's been updated since but i've not settled on a final version, the boards are 91x6mm and there are three in a set that assemble into one.
And i'm planning to use the extra 9mm to route traces between the boards and V-groove through the edge (if that's possible).
Sort of taking inspiration from one of Dave's old videos where he did the same for his panel of µCurrents for testing.

*normally i make my own but double sided boards are not my forte, especially not at this scale.

Ps: I can inlude more files of my boards, i just haven't yet because i don't want to litter the server with potentially unwanted files.
« Last Edit: November 21, 2020, 04:51:49 pm by Refrigerator »
I have a blog at http://brimmingideas.blogspot.com/ . Now less empty than ever before !
An expert of making MOSFETs explode.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs