Author Topic: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon  (Read 1051 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online coppercone2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5754
  • Country: us
  • $
dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« on: May 05, 2021, 06:04:14 am »
I want to know where to put a dial indicator on my micro manual mill. I have a dial indicator arm and a dial indicator but I can't figure out where the best place is to mount one.

i don't want to CNC it. I can drill holes in things to mount something, thats fine

http://www.robotpark.com/Proxxon-MF70-Micro-Mill-27110

I thought to put a mounting plate on the side of the column
 

Offline Robert Smith Eco Warrior

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 114
  • Country: gb
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2021, 10:31:32 pm »
It depends what you want to measure with the dial indicator.
You could mount it on the spindle to line up on fairly big existing holes.
You could mount it on the column or head to check you have your work clamped parallel on the table.
You could also check the perpendicularity of table and spindle by mounting it in the spindle or chuck.
You can mount it above the table and use it as a height comparing guage if you have a batch of parts to check through.
Loads of things you can use it for.

I have just bought a little tiny dial test indicator to set up already machined parts in my lathe to get them concentric.
 
The following users thanked this post: AmnevaR

Online coppercone2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5754
  • Country: us
  • $
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2021, 11:32:56 pm »
I thought with a small part you can attach it so it measures how much the bed moves to use it like a readout. I have seen pictures of this on small mills but I am not sure where the best place is. I saw a picture of a 2 inch one mounted to a taig.

My column and base is filled with epoxy+sand+lead shot, so its really sturdy/heavy/dampened there (I thought it was making too much noise when you cut things). I thought the best place was to make a threaded hole in the column, or to screw in a plate with a threaded hole in the column, so on the left or right side I can screw in a long adjustable arm with a dial indicator on the end.

I also thought to mount the whole thing to a piece of granite I have laying around, then put the dials on that. And maybe glue rubber under the granite. Then I can put an indicator that potentially reads the Z axis. Fortunately I have base comparators, so at least I have measuring parts covered.

The Z-axis is a little bit of trouble because if I tighten the screw down, it really almost gets rid of the vibration completely, like I can hear a huge difference in vibration when its set to the 'easy to move' tightness and the 'stuck' tightness. The x-y table waddles kind of, which is disappointing, but I think its ok, so when I use it I set a depth, tighten the z axis, then mill x-y, and I try to make holes on my precision drill press.

I thought maybe too it would be best to just buy a disposable B grade surface plate and attach the mill to it. They are kind of cheap. I think I am also going to try to fill the top cap on the column with epoxy sand, i think it makes a bit of noise too, so the column does not have any voids. I also got like quality brand name 3 and 4 flute end mills for it, and they make a world of difference compared to the really weird bits I got originally (I think they are for plastic, it was making horrible melty cuts, but the new ones work like a real milling machine)
« Last Edit: May 05, 2021, 11:45:56 pm by coppercone2 »
 

Offline jpanhalt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: us
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2021, 12:07:53 am »
I have a cheap HF mill and find X and Y axis are about as good as you can expect.  Z-axis (vertical) is horrible ( maybe +/- 0.040).  I put a dial indicator on the vertical axis.  As for X and Y, you just have to deal with them.  ( I also have a Bridgeport w/DRO for real work.)
 

Offline rcjoy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 12
  • Country: us
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2021, 05:48:50 am »
Use a magnetic base and you can freely place it anywhere.
 

Online coppercone2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5754
  • Country: us
  • $
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2021, 05:51:41 am »
Hmm, i see they have much smaller ones then the full sized one I have. maybe that could work. I thought it was just too small, the one I have I guess is considered full size and is too big to put on the machine.
 

Online coppercone2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5754
  • Country: us
  • $
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2021, 06:12:14 am »
Do you think having it against the vise is harmful in terms of vibration if used during cutting?
 

Offline Robert Smith Eco Warrior

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 114
  • Country: gb
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2021, 07:33:34 am »
I have a cheap HF mill and find X and Y axis are about as good as you can expect.  Z-axis (vertical) is horrible ( maybe +/- 0.040).....
Is that +/- 0.04mm or +/- 0.04"
 

Online coppercone2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5754
  • Country: us
  • $
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #8 on: May 06, 2021, 07:49:24 am »
when people write 0.040 i think of inches
 

Offline Robert Smith Eco Warrior

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 114
  • Country: gb
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #9 on: May 06, 2021, 08:07:43 am »
when people write 0.040 i think of inches
That is what I was thinking but 40 thou is quite a lot of movement.
 

Offline jpanhalt

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1321
  • Country: us
Re: dial indicator goes where? mf70 proxxon
« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2021, 10:04:12 am »
Yes, 0.040" is what was meant. Sorry about that confusion.

The fine vertical adjustment has some sort of sloppy gear drive that will suddenly jump.  It is not always that bad, but I don't trust it for anything less than 0.010".   Works decently for through slots and drilling, but milling to a certain depth is pretty much trial and error.  I mount the dial indicator to the same screw that is used to clamp the spindle.

That relegates one to using the coarse adjustment, since it doesn't actually move with the spindle, but at least one has a reliable indication. 
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf