Author Topic: Accuracy of a Thermocouple measure system  (Read 2331 times)

Offline Cyclone1Topic starter

Accuracy of a Thermocouple measure system
« on: February 27, 2020, 12:14:47 pm »
I am not very knowledgeable in this field. And This is my first time trying thermocouple measurement with a DAQ, I have some question about the main source of error in the measurement system, and technique that can be use to improve the DAQ accuracies. (Let’s assume the voltage measurement isn’t a issue)

Let’s say my DAQ specify thermocouple accuracy of 1C, not including probe error. Is it possible to improve the accuracy of the DAQ by self calibrating the CJC with a good thermistor? Let’s say with a 0.1C thermistor, does it make my DAQ thermocouple accuracy to be 0.1C across all range and different type of TC? (Not including the TC error of course)

Let’s also say that the DAQ internal reference is 0.1C off the thermistor, can I say my DAQ is have atleast ~0.2C accuracies?

I also learned there is a thermocouple simulator equipment like one on the 5520A. The user manual specifically required the use of correct thermocouple in order to properly calibrate the DUT. Since it basically output TC voltage based  on its-90 and there is no thermal gradient between the TC, Why does it still need correct TC wires? In this kind of setup, what would be my test uncertainties from the perspective of my DAQ? Do I still need to include the TC error? Or only the calibrator uncertainties?

« Last Edit: February 27, 2020, 12:20:48 pm by Cyclone1 »

Online Conrad Hoffman

• Super Contributor
    • The Messy Basement
Re: Accuracy of a Thermocouple measure system
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2020, 02:16:35 pm »
I don't know the specific answer to your questions but it comes down to accuracy, sensitivity and trust.