Author Topic: Audio Precision ApX 525  (Read 968 times)

Offline DavidTheElectricianTopic starter

Audio Precision ApX 525
« on: September 24, 2022, 06:58:18 pm »
I just recently completed my education as an Electrician and now suddenly find myself in an IEC 17025 laboratory, so please bear with me for being a complete newb.

I have recently calibrated a bunch of Audio Precision ApX 525's, but I stumple upon the same anomaly on every single one of these particular instruments.

The instrument specification gives an uncertainty of+/- 0,008 dB at 10 Hz relative to 1 kHz (voltage not specified but I have been using everything from 1 V p-p to 10 V p-p). However, every time I approach 10 Hz the measurements begins to flucuate wildly between approximately - 0,004 dB and -0,034 dB (relative to 1 kHz). 11 Hz is just fine. 10,8 Hz fine as well. At 10,6 Hz the readings, however, starts to become erratic.

I don't think the issue is related to the signal generation: I have tried using a Fluke 5522A, a Keysight 33250A as well as the ApX 525's own generator output. However, the issue remains the same.

I have also tried running the self diagnostics tests (generator to analyzer) and it came out as passed.

Also, every single one of the other 100's of calibrations points I put the ApX 525 through is within specs as well.

I have been in contact with Audio Precision (sharing my project file with them to rule out any setup errors in the software controlling the instrument) and they simply can't duplicate the issue (even using my project file).

So far Audio Precision has suggested that the instruments needs an adjustment, however, isn't it rather unusual that every single ApX 525 that passes my lab can't pass the aforementioned test?

This leads me to the conclusion that I surely must be doing something wrong... I just don't know WHAT that might be.

I am still new to electronics, and hence I have yet to understand what goes on behind the hood of the instruments.