Author Topic: Books or resources on VNA fixturing and calibration?  (Read 1729 times)

Offline Andrew_KTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Personal Blog
Books or resources on VNA fixturing and calibration?
« on: June 26, 2022, 01:31:32 am »
I wouldn't say I'm a complete noob when it comes to using VNAs, but I'm reaching a point where I want to care about precision.

Does anyone have recommendations for books or articles on the theory side of how calibration works, and how to design good fixtures? Google isn't giving me anything that seems particularly useful.

I'm trying to measure some rather unique components, and I'm realizing that alligator clips may not be adequate :p

I would like to better understand how calibration works so I can make better decisions around fixture design and measurement process.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2022, 02:03:33 am by Andrew_K »

Offline Bud

• Super Contributor
Re: Books or resources on VNA fixturing and calibration?
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2022, 04:45:01 am »
https://www.amazon.com/Handbook-Microwave-Component-Measurements-Techniques/dp/1119477131

You can also google for Agilent VNA Application Notes, they are great publications.
« Last Edit: June 26, 2022, 04:47:30 am by Bud »
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

The following users thanked this post: PartialDischarge

Offline virtualparticles

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2022, 07:48:55 pm »
I wrote this about measurement accuracy and uncertainty. Hopefully this answers most questions.

https://coppermountaintech.com/introduction-to-the-metrology-of-vna-measurement/

Best,

Brian

The following users thanked this post: JohnG, PartialDischarge, 2N3055, Grandchuck, horo

Offline virtualparticles

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2022, 12:13:18 pm »