Author Topic: DIY high resolution multi-slope converter  (Read 127039 times)

Offline ali_asadzadeh

• Super Contributor
Re: DIY high resolution multi-slope converter
« Reply #325 on: December 30, 2020, 10:47:07 am »
increasing the time resolution does only help if the clock stability is maintained.
Usually those parts have PLLs which are much less stable than a XTAL clock or Oscillator.

As I have seen with my 10V LM399 experiments the clock stability
has a large influence on stability of the analog part.

Si5340 From can be used as a very low jitter clock gen to feed MCU timer/counter external pin, maybe with this baby we could solve it too >:D
ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline KleinsteinTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #326 on: December 30, 2020, 10:50:35 am »
Even with only a little help (e.g. using some 8 bits) from the µC internal ADC the numerical resolution is sufficient at 20 ms integration. The slight point to improve may be the speed of the ADC: the AVR needs some 10 µs for sampling and this time could be reduces a little for the rundown phase. Having the full conversion ready helps with the latency and data format. A faster µC may make a small difference in the maximum speed.  I expect the quantization noise to become only below some 1 ms integration time. There a little more resolution from the ADC may help a little. Because of mains hum it would be rare to need more than 22 Bits at 1 kSPS.