Author Topic: DIY Precision AC-RMS to DC Transfer Standard  (Read 25993 times)

Offline Qmavam

• Regular Contributor
Re: DIY Precision AC-RMS to DC Transfer Standard
« Reply #50 on: August 18, 2019, 01:54:43 am »
Defining my problem.
 I just bought two HP400E's AC voltmeters.
I drove then with my metered HP651A, so all measurements are relative to the HP651A accuracy.
I measured each range from 1mV to 3 V.
Unit A reads 9% to 19% Low, Unit B reads 6% to 13% High.

This make me serious about building an RMS to DC converter.
 I'm not a designer, but I can build from a schematic, with pretty good knowledge of concerns about parasitics.
I think I could do a pretty decent job building the resistor/diode in a insulated package.
 My concern is, I have a need to measure 4mV between 500kHz and 2MHz.
What is needed to measure that low? It doesn't create me heat energy.
If I used a 50 ohm resistor, 4mV would only create 0.32microwatts at the diode.
Is that enough to heat the diode, to the point where I could get an accurate reading.
 I may need a several ranges to get to 3 volts.
 But to start, I could build just a 0 to 10 mV unit, to do the 4mv measurement I working towards.
 Any help appreciated.
                                    Mikek

Offline Qmavam

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #51 on: August 18, 2019, 03:05:10 am »
Hey guys, would it make any sense to use an LM35 and lap the cover down to a point where you are very close to the internal diode and
then mount your resistor. It has 10mV/C* output so starting with a gain of 20 and an inversion.
I've been looking for a mask or internal layout of the chip. no luck.
 Would it be better to lap the to front or back of a TO-92 case.
I thought the 8 pin case might be easier to work with but it also would have more thermal mass.
                                             Mikek

Offline amspireTopic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: August 18, 2019, 04:04:37 am »
Ok, I read 5 and 6. He used a LM358 as an amplifier.