Author Topic: Fluke 724 calibration cable  (Read 941 times)

Offline MatteoGariaTopic starter

Fluke 724 calibration cable
« on: January 20, 2023, 11:48:58 am »
Hello everyone,
This is my first post here, so let me introduce myself a little... I'm a software developer profesionally speaking, father and diy enthusiast and in the real life. Also electronic hobbyist when some time is left from all the previous.
Please forgive me for english language errors,  I'm almost totally self-taught about that.

Coming to the real topic, a couple of years ago I found a fluke 724 temperature calibrator in the dumpster at my previous workplace. It was discarded just because... battery contact oxidation, a broken input plug and a severely dirty case.
Well I gave it the love it needed and now is mostly ok, I just need to finish the job by 3d printing a bit of the plastic cover that's missing.

When used in DC voltage generation mode, a modality really useful for me, it shows an annoying 40mV offset on the output. It remains constant through all the scale, so, for istance, if I set the output to 1.000V it sources 1.040V. Now I can't remember but an offset probably is present also in other modes.
Obviously it's usable like that, just by setting it against a reference multimeter, but I was looking how to fix it and I came across it's calibration manual. It seems that it's requested to connect the instrument to the computer using a specific cable and Hyperterminal (or similar) is all you need on the software side of things. Plus some references but I can arrange for that.

The issue is the serial cable, the original is discontinued by Fluke (PN 1556747) and some knockoff are available online for about 150$. I sincerely don't want to spend this money (also because this instrument may be broken and a calibration may not solve the issue) and I was wondering what kind of magic is this cable to cost so much.