Author Topic: Frequency measurement question?  (Read 3451 times)

Offline ZenwizardTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Frequency measurement question?
« on: July 07, 2019, 02:53:06 pm »
I am repairing a Tek type 184 and a TG 501. I need to measure and internal clocks to make sure they are in spec before I Cal the time bases on a few 7000 series scopes. My issue is I do not have a known good frequency counter in the lab yet. I have a Rigol scope and its internal counter says they are in spec and bang on. However this does not have enough zeros in the counter for my liking. My issue now is since I don’t have a frequency standard in the lab either to check in a counter I think I have 2 options one is acquire a new frequency counter with a current fresh Cal and trust it as known good. Or get a counter that is working and hook it up to an external reference like a GPS disciplined oscillator at 10 Mhz Is this correct? I am new to high precision frequency measurements but trying to really check in the bench and cal the scopes as they go back on. I would send them off to Tek but Tek wants $1000.00 to Cal a 7000 series mainframe OUCH
You Tube Link - Fixing broken Things

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
Re: Frequency measurement question?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2019, 03:23:46 pm »
One could use the series 7000 scope to measure a known frequency. I don't know the scope, how good it is to measure a frequency. However if it needs a very accurate frequency, it should be somehow capable do a good frequency measurement. So the check of the internal clock would be indirect. There could still be some jitter problem - but this is something that a normal counter would not notice either.

Offline ArthurDent

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2019, 03:29:24 pm »