Author Topic: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe  (Read 96976 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #150 on: September 27, 2019, 04:15:53 pm »
Did Spectracom Ageless Master Oscillator made it into the main code?  You spent so much time helping me but I don't see it in list of supported GPSDO.  It's been working well.  Thank you.
« Last Edit: September 27, 2019, 08:45:14 pm by tkamiya »
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #151 on: September 27, 2019, 08:48:12 pm »
Few days ago, I bought a stack of Nortel GPSTM.  Apparently, what I bought is different from what I already have.....  I have Trimble OEM version that works well with LH.  What I bought is; however, bears same model number but is made by Symmetricom.  GPS chip is Furuno GT-8031F.  LH's auto-discovery cannot see it.  Trying to connect to it via putty, at 19200,8,n,1, I can get *something* but garbled.  Has anyone successfully interfaced this version with LH or even a terminal emulator?

CORRECTION>  using 19.2K 7,O,1, I got a prompt "E-113>"  I still can't talk to it as anything I type is met with repeat of the prompt.
Specified such in command line to start LH.  It is not finding the receiver.  Behavior is quite different from Trimble version.  Perhaps this is not supported.... (yet)
« Last Edit: September 28, 2019, 04:46:38 am by tkamiya »
 

Offline ArthurDent

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1193
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #152 on: September 28, 2019, 06:42:18 pm »
I've used a terminal emulator to talk to this GPSDO. If you're getting the E-113 message that means you are talking to the unit and it is telling you there is an error message and you can't continue unless the error message is cleared. Get to where you have the E-113 error message displayed and type *CLS <enter key> to clear the error and the prompt should now say SCSI> . Any time you screw up and the unit displays the error message, you must clear it again to continue.

Type *IDN? <enter> and the unit should return the ID number and also return to SCSI>, waiting for the next command. Try some of the following commands. 

:GPS:POS?
:DIAG:LOG:READ:ALL?
:DIAG:LIFEtime:COUNt?
(lower case letters and first : are optional)
:SYSTem:STATus?  (gives satellite count/tracking, lots of info)

These are like some of the commands for the Lucent KS-24361 GPSDO. some are specific to that unit but if you can find the list, it is a good starting point.   
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #153 on: September 28, 2019, 08:03:35 pm »
Thank you!

That got me going.  Looks like E-113 was there because I powered it up before connecting antenna.  It is now tracking 8 with valid PPS.  So it's all good.

Do you mind communicating with me via email?  I don't really want to clutter up this thread.  Mine is tkamiya9<at>yahoo.com
 

Offline w9gb

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 33
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #154 on: October 03, 2019, 08:55:53 pm »
Mark -

Have you added the Schweitzer Engineering Laboratories (Pullman, WA)
SEL-2404, Satellite-Synchronized Clock to Lady Heather v6 Beta support ?
https://selinc.com/products/2407/

Nice unit with a IRIG-B output and six (6) programmable BNC outputs.

These units are primarily used in the public utility industry (rack mounted), and a number are appearing surplus (sometimes for less than $200).  The Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) must have performed an upgrade at substations, power plants, and control rooms — since many are in SouthEast USA.

4 page Flyer for SEL-2407
https://cdn.selinc.com/assets/Literature/Product%20Literature/Flyers/2407_PF00100.pdf?v=20180914-174247

NTP Server usage
https://cdn.selinc.com/assets/Literature/Publications/Application%20Notes/AN2010-03_20121105.pdf?v=20151022-164640

greg
 

Offline tomeo.gonzales

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 58
  • Country: ro
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #155 on: October 12, 2019, 03:26:15 pm »
Hi,
I have a GPSDO from ebay. (see the attached picture)
Inside is a Trimble 57693-D module.
It is supported by Lady Heather (v6.14) ?
It is not detected automatically.
I'm not able to find the correct command line parameters for Lady Heather.
Please help
Thank you


 

Offline docdailey

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #156 on: October 20, 2019, 08:34:03 am »


This tool is fantastic.  How do devices get added.  I see the Jackson Labs Fury GPSDO is not on the list.  I would be interested in helping get it there.  How can I help?

Bill
 

Offline akumiszcza

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: pl
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #157 on: November 14, 2019, 01:05:10 pm »
Hi!
I connected my BG7TBL GPSDO to a PC running FreeBSD as NTP server. I use GPSd and so it's possible to use Lady Heather (6.14) monitoring together with serving time. Unfortunately, I don't see the elevation and azimuth of nearly each satellite.
When I use xgps or gpsmon software at the same time, I can see the data is there.
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #158 on: December 11, 2019, 04:19:23 am »
Would you consider adding an ability to read environmental temperature?  Not the device temp but the lab itself.  That would be very nice, me thinks?
 

Offline texaspyroTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1407
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #159 on: December 11, 2019, 04:35:52 am »
Would you consider adding an ability to read environmental temperature?  Not the device temp but the lab itself.  That would be very nice, me thinks?

Heather already has support for reading a couple of different environmental sensors (temp, humidity, pressure).  The sensor can be either the main input device (receiver) or an auxiliary input device.   I use the USB sensor from dogratian.com

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/metrology/environmental-sensor-recommendations/
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #160 on: December 11, 2019, 05:19:50 am »
I went ahead and purchased USB-PA.  At $30, it's pretty reasonable.  Thanks for the tip!
 

Offline metrologist

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2225
  • Country: 00
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #161 on: December 11, 2019, 03:06:36 pm »
I went ahead and purchased USB-PA.  At $30, it's pretty reasonable.  Thanks for the tip!

Does the USB-PA also do temp and humidity? The specs seem to indicate so but the description makes it uncertain.

OT: there is a USB PA Crazy Radio, which I assume is a wireless USB interface but its not clear what you use it for? Coincidentally $30.
 

Offline texaspyroTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1407
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #162 on: December 11, 2019, 04:18:20 pm »
I went ahead and purchased USB-PA.  At $30, it's pretty reasonable.  Thanks for the tip!

Does the USB-PA also do temp and humidity? The specs seem to indicate so but the description makes it uncertain.


It has a BME280 sensor on it.  Does temp, humidity, air pressure.
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #163 on: January 17, 2020, 12:33:12 am »
I have been using LH with PRS10.

Today, I was looking at status flags, ST1 to ST6.  On LH, these values are expressed in 0x00 format.  Can I get this in bit map format?  This is really is not a big deal but those bytes are bit mapped.  It'll be a bit easier if it's in 0000 0000 format.

Thanks!
 

Offline softfoot

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: gb
What is needed to compile LH for Wimdows ??
« Reply #164 on: February 09, 2020, 10:02:04 am »

The subject says it all ;-)

IE Toolchain, libraries etc

I'd like to apply a few tweaks for myself.

Best regards
Dave
Grumpy Old Software/Hardware Engineering Git
Dave
 

Offline Helix70

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 289
  • Country: au
  • VK4JNA
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #165 on: February 09, 2020, 01:05:37 pm »
As per the readme, "Source code is compilable with most versions of Visual Studio including the free Community Edition package."

http://www.ke5fx.com/heather/readme.htm
 

Offline softfoot

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 44
  • Country: gb
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #166 on: February 09, 2020, 01:16:30 pm »

Excellent -- Many thanks
Dave
Grumpy Old Software/Hardware Engineering Git
Dave
 

Offline texaspyroTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1407
Re: What is needed to compile LH for Wimdows ??
« Reply #167 on: February 09, 2020, 08:18:00 pm »

The subject says it all ;-)

IE Toolchain, libraries etc

I'd like to apply a few tweaks for myself.

Best regards
Dave

I use Visual Studio 2005 under Windows XP.

Note that the makefile for Windows (in the ke5fx.com intsllation) is different than the Linux version.  The heath*.c* files are the same for all OS versions.
 

Offline perdrix

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 649
  • Country: gb
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #168 on: February 25, 2020, 06:27:37 pm »
Mark,

Here's an odd-ball request - any chance you could sweet talk your lady friend into supporting the Meade RCX-400 telescope?

There's no way to send commands directly to the GPS unit (unfortunately), but the telescope will accept a command on the serial port that will redirect the GPS NMEA output to the serial port until the next character is sent to the serial port:

 :gpx#  serial command.. returns continuous GPS sentences until another
         serial character is received. 
    Sentences are prefixed with "$" and postfixed with x0D (return)
       for direct compatibility with VisualGPS and the like.

Cheers
David Partridge

 

Offline rockwell

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: de
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #169 on: March 12, 2020, 02:10:18 pm »
Is it possible to use a Trimble 4000 with Lady Heather ?
It has RS232 output.
 

Offline notfaded1

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 559
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #170 on: March 15, 2020, 03:43:07 am »
Does anyone know how to get the DogRatlan's USB-PA to say work with lady heather and a Trimble Thunderbolt or even another ublox GPSDO?  Is there a command or commandline command you have to add for the additional USB interface the USB-PA is running on?

Bill
.ılılı..ılılı.
notfaded1
 

Offline astrosnapper

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #171 on: April 23, 2020, 05:26:19 pm »
You need to add "-en=?", where ? is the COM port number of your USB-PA temp sensor, to your Lady Heather command line in the shortcut.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2020, 05:32:05 pm by astrosnapper »
 

Offline texaspyroTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1407
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #172 on: April 27, 2020, 02:45:01 am »
There is also a mode where the temp sensor is the main input device (/??  /rxen  (where ?? is the com port info)).    In this mode you can also use the /en=?? command to access a second temperature sensor.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2020, 02:57:15 am by texaspyro »
 

Offline tkamiya

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2178
  • Country: us
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #173 on: April 27, 2020, 06:07:42 pm »
I am doing a median survey with LH and T-bolt.  I can't find a command to save to disk or save to device.  HELP! 

I can issue this save command after it's done, right??
 

Offline texaspyroTopic starter

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1407
Re: Lady Heather v6 Beta for Windows .exe
« Reply #174 on: April 28, 2020, 12:00:51 am »
The results should automatically be saved to the Tbolt when the survey completes.   The survey data is also written to a file while it is running.  I am away at the moment and don' remember the file name used... I think it ends with .lla
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf