Electronics > Metrology

Pt100 sensor precision / accuracy question , batch sample selection .

(1/7) > >>

Overspeed:
Hello

I have a question regarding Pt100 as the cost vary from few Euro / USD to $$$$$$

Does the Pt100 are sorted to select the best one in a batch ( linearity ?) or does there is other requirements ? I am not an expert in variable resistor

My goal is to built some '' accurate '' probes ( I have no problem with the mechanical parts ) 4 wires to connect to my ASL thermometers but also to my HP 34970A data loger

I have equipment as a triple point water , calibration furnace , calibrator ...

I plan to sort some for temp from 0 to 100 C

Regards
OS

EC8010:
Yes, PT100 vary from affordable to expensive. I've used them a lot. Measuring temperature is much harder than it seems because there's always a thermal resistance between the part whose temperature you want to measure and your sensor. Combined with the thermal mass of your sensor, that makes things tricky. I use the smallest PT100 I've been able to find from Farnell: 219-1840 and I glue them with a thin film of epoxy to whatever I need to measure, so they have to be regarded as disposable. I think the manufacturing tolerance is +/-1C, which is often good enough. Usually, what is required is repeatability and resolution. But it sounds as though you're capable of calibrating your probes if necessary.

You can buy all sorts of expensive probes and they all have higher thermal mass, increasing errors. They often add thermal resistance between the Device Under Test (DUT) and their PT100. I eventually considered them to be a waste of money compared to little sensors glued to the DUT. If you're measuring the temperature of a DUT that is exposed to the environment, you may want to make a little foam house over the PT100 to prevent a thermal potential divider forming from the thermal resistance from DUT to PT100 and from PT100 to environment.