Author Topic: Idiots guide needed for setting up my 3456a GPIB to PC  (Read 2000 times)

Offline valley001Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Idiots guide needed for setting up my 3456a GPIB to PC
« on: January 15, 2020, 03:47:54 am »
Hello all,

Not sure if this is the correct place, but my intentions with this are metrology related.  I want to generate plots with my 3456a, like monitoring/recording noise on the Fluke 845 I am working on.  I am not a computer programming expert, but I am a quick learner and willing to dive in where possible. 

What will I need besides the GPIB to usb interface to get my PC and 3456a talking with one another? 

Offline MiDi

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Idiots guide needed for setting up my 3456a GPIB to PC
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2020, 09:31:14 am »
You will need:
- Driver for GPIB-Adapter for your particular OS (maybe installed automatically)
- Logging-Tool that can talk to the GPIB-Adapter and configurable log the Data
- To tell the 3456A what it has to do: GPIB-Commands
- Visualization Tool for the logged Data

There are a couple of options for Logging-Tools and Vis (depending on OS).
What to choose depends on your preferences, how much money you want to spend and how much you prefer to program/parametrize.

The following users thanked this post: valley001

Offline Grandchuck

• Frequent Contributor

The following users thanked this post: valley001

• Frequent Contributor

Offline dietert1

• Super Contributor
    • CADT Homepage
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2020, 08:36:26 am »
If you can afford, better buy some brand product like NI or HP. At ebay they come around 100 $ now. Search for "GPIB-USB-HS" or "82357B". Then there will be all kinds of drivers for different operating systems and example programs. And you can begin with a free VISA-based  data logger app.

Regards, Dieter

Offline kj7e

• Frequent Contributor
  • Damon Stewart
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2020, 02:51:11 pm »