Author Topic: Did I get fake Chips? Long,very fun journey (for me),with a puzzle.-(Title Edit)  (Read 1156 times)

Offline phuzzydayTopic starter

EDIT - Sorry, lots of rambling here. I THINK I got some fake INA226 breakout boards. LOVE some opinions, I am fairly new to tons of this, so lots of childish excitement in here, hands on is VERY cool after watching so many EEVBLOG Videos!

Am I in the right section for this?

Phil - from Alberta. Apologies for the wall of text, I am more excited about the fun I have been having troubleshooting than I am stressed about the remaining problem. I'm having fun! (Huge depression problem, it's a bigger deal than you think.)

Also recovering from everybodies favorite 'C' word virus, so my head is not right, and sore. Very sore.

I've been learning about electronics for years since I had to go on disability. Well, I have always really loved it, (Radio Shack 150-in 1 Kit around 1977), but for the past 5 or 6 years I have been getting much more into it! (Micro Starter kit let to me learning and collecting a lot of very neat parts I saw in videos, as well as a couple tools.. Not too great.. (Hantek 6022BE Scope with OpenHantek actually DID something today!)

Anyhow, I am trying to get an ina226 sensor to talk to an Arduino. It's a current and voltage sensor, China, breakout board. I2C. I've tried three controller boards, with two different controllers, and a different sensor, from the SAME BATCH......

So I downloaded the library from 'Rob Tillart', and it seemed to run, and it was happy with seeing the board, but showed the same illogical values no matter what I connected to it for currents to measure or other pins.
The code in the example sktech I ran did have a check to see it it had a connection, and it was happy.
Still, something was wrong. I ran the I2C Scanner example sketch, and it seemed like every odd address showed a device on it!

Yep - It looked like The sensor was answering calls for most of the neighborhood.