Author Topic: Dim OLED Screen replacement for Agilent Keysight U1253A U1253B U1273A U1273AX  (Read 46817 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline onesystemTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: us
So now resetting the ports before jumping:
Code: [Select]
sub_7f00:                                           ; From bootloader
    br !llab_7fdb            ;7f00  9b db 7f         ; Go to failsafe check

lab_7fdb:                                           ; Failsafe check
    mov pm7,#0xf0           ;7fdb  13 27 f0         ; Set P7.7-4 as input, P7.3-0 as output
    mov pu7,#0xf0           ;7fde  13 37 f0         ; Enable P7.7-4 pullups
    mov p7,#0x00            ;7fe1  11 07 00         ; P7.3-0 outputs low
    movw ax,#0x0100         ;7fe4  10 00 01         ; Much smaller delay

lab_7fe7:
    subw ax,#0x0001         ;7fe7  da 01 00
    bnz lab_7fe7            ;7fea  bd fb   
    mov a,p7                ;7fec  f0 07            ; Move  P7 value into A
    mov pm7,#0xff           ;7fee  13 27 ff         ; Clear port config
    mov pu7,#0x00           ;7ff1  13 37 00
    bt a.7,lab_7ff8         ;7ff4  31 7e 01         ; test A, bit 7
    ret                     ;7ff7  af               ; Return (Button pressed)

lab_7ff8:
    br !lab_3015            ;7ff8  9b 15 30         ; Enter app (Not pressed)
Finally loaded the "U1273AX_V301_failsafe_p74.ag" on meter. Meter works fine, no problems at all.

I used DSD Tech SH-U06A to load it this time so I don't have to take apart optical comm and solder in the Rx Tx Gnd pins. See attached photos.

Now, what is the expected operation of this failsafe version?
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6045
  • Country: es
It's just reading a different input. Try finding which button causes it to go into update mode (Holding while powering on).
Might not be connected to any button, that's why I made the four p77...p74 tests.
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline msquared

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Country: us
Wanted to give a BIG THANK YOU! to both you guys. 

I replaced the display on my U1253A and upgraded the firmware today.

Attached pictures tell the story.

I also posted this success story in the testgear thread.
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/replacing-oled-screen-on-an-agilent-u1253a-multimeter/msg5311756/#msg5311756

« Last Edit: February 02, 2024, 06:03:35 pm by msquared »
 
The following users thanked this post: DavidAlfa, onesystem

Offline bson

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2296
  • Country: us
Forked k0dasm with the command.py and symbols.py changes to support the D78F0547 at https://github.com/bson/k0dasm
 
The following users thanked this post: onesystem

Offline Njk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 241
  • Country: ru
So there is NEC uPD78F0547 inside. My Fluke 189 uses Sharp SM6004 chip. No docs, no tools, etc. What was the reason for widely using a Japanese MCUs in the DMMs of the US brands? If there was a shortage of the domestic MCU designs back at that time?
 

Offline bson

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2296
  • Country: us
IMHO relying in the forum storage is the least reliable way, but attached anyways  :D.
Just for reference, I also forked it at https://github.com/bson/78k0-flash-utility
 
The following users thanked this post: onesystem

Offline voltsandjolts

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2333
  • Country: gb
So there is NEC uPD78F0547 inside. My Fluke 189 uses Sharp SM6004 chip. No docs, no tools, etc. What was the reason for widely using a Japanese MCUs in the DMMs of the US brands? If there was a shortage of the domestic MCU designs back at that time?

Maybe those design teams are in Asia, and they naturally gravitate to home-grown mcu's.
US based design teams are perhaps more focussed on bench / high-end gear, where "western" mcu's are common.
Just guessing. Maybe just cost driven.
 

Online gamalot

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1328
  • Country: au
  • Correct my English
    • Youtube
So there is NEC uPD78F0547 inside. My Fluke 189 uses Sharp SM6004 chip. No docs, no tools, etc. What was the reason for widely using a Japanese MCUs in the DMMs of the US brands? If there was a shortage of the domestic MCU designs back at that time?

Maybe those design teams are in Asia, and they naturally gravitate to home-grown mcu's.
US based design teams are perhaps more focussed on bench / high-end gear, where "western" mcu's are common.
Just guessing. Maybe just cost driven.

I don't know about Fluke. Keysight's handheld multimeters are designed and produced by Escort Instruments, a Taiwanese company acquired by Agilent in 2008.
 
The following users thanked this post: voltsandjolts

Offline xinchengGE

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: cn
Re: 8-Bit 78K0: D78F0547 help with firmware modification
« Reply #83 on: March 28, 2024, 04:41:04 am »
How to replace the Agilent / Keysight OLED display for just $10!

- Buy the display: Aliexpress (Or search for "SSD1309 8080").

    (Attachment Link)

- You might need to install the Prolific drivers. If getting code 10, install the attached drivers.
- Make sure Windows is using them: Open the Device Manager, check those under USB devices/USB serial port and COM ports/USB serial port, replace driver if needed.
- Don't attempt loading a firmware from another model, it'll brick the device! (Not irreversible, see Recovering section below)


Agilent / Keysight U1273A / U1273AX

  If your device has firmware version v4.xx it will work straight away, no firmware modification is required!

 - Confirmed working!
 - Download and extract U1273A(X)_V303_mod.zip.
 - Run the updater.

 - Original installers from Keysight: U1273A, U1273AX .
   Must be v3.01, newer version will check the current firmware and block the update if already in the latest version!
   Just change the firmware name to U1273A(X)_V301.AG. (A or AX).


Agilent / Keysight U1253A

  - Confirmed working!
  - Download and unpack Agilent U1253A Firmware Update V120_mod.zip.
  - Run the updater.


Agilent / Keysight U1253B

 - Same mod as 1253A, so it should work.
 - Download and extract U1253B_V304_1123a_mod.zip.
 - Run the updater.


Reverse enginnering details

All the bits & low-level details can be found few posts below.


Recovery

If something goes wrong, it's pretty easy to recover using a usb-serial converter, read the messages starting here.
Great thanks to you guys working on thist project´╝ümy meter is now back to live again.
But as a reminder, I think you guys should uploader your work on github or a similar platform and attach a License to it.
I am from China and have already seen someone selling this firmware on the local network. :palm: :palm: :palm:
 
The following users thanked this post: onesystem

Offline Tarloth

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: ar
THANKS A LOT!!!!!!!! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

I need to update a 1253A, can anyone make a DIY optic cable or connect directly RXTX from and USBtoSerie standard interface to the meter to use with the updater in the second post? I lost in somewhere my interface cable and prefer not to buy a new one if it is possible.

THANKS AGAIN, GREAT PERFECT A PROFESSIONAL JOB!
 
The following users thanked this post: onesystem

Offline onesystemTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: us
You can make an optic cable for sure, it is actually quite simple circuitry. Do you by chance have a 3D printer? that would be needed to print out a snap-in head that would align the LEDs of the UART with meter LEDs. I can throw together a printable file and a circuit board quickly if you are interested.

If it is a bit too involved, then what can be done is to use regular FTDI UART usb cable/dongle and connect directly to the meter internal header (which is definitely present in U1273AX on the top right of the board. Not sure where it is in 1253A
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6045
  • Country: es
No, the internal header is a different port, I don't think it's "talkative"?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2024, 05:01:02 pm by DavidAlfa »
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline onesystemTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: us
In U1273AX port is fully talkative, I did couple of firmware updates from it directly instead of using the optical UART. It was the same port that I used to "unbrick" the meter (with your smart guidance!) when I messed it up, remember?
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6045
  • Country: es
Are you sure?
I recall you stripped the original cable to unbrick the DMM, accessing rx/tx signals and connecting them to the header.
But that's the only use for it that I remember, the updating was done with the optical cable, right?
Or did you update through the header here?
« Last Edit: April 23, 2024, 07:22:04 pm by DavidAlfa »
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 

Offline onesystemTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: us
I am definitely sure. Later on I even posted that I got a FDTI USB to UART from Amazon which I connected directly and was able to use that connection for uploading of firmware using the stock Keysight/Agilent firmware uploader. It definitely detected the meter and cycled through the update process without problems.
 

Offline onesystemTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: us
Or did you update through the header here?

Yep, I used it there too.
 

Offline Tarloth

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: ar
Thanks Again! I did try today to buy in my country the OLED display and none it's compatible, I need to buy in ebay or in aliexpress then would took one month to arrive.

I can make the IR-USB cable meanwhile , I have several CNC machibes to make the head, I can post results here.

Anybody  used another colour than Yellow for the display? It's less readable in white than yellow? 

Thanks again for your enormous work, it's a real shame that Keysight not provided this firmware mod.
 

Offline onesystemTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 54
  • Country: us
I personally liked the original yellow color of OLED, also I think DavidAlfa mentioned something about yellow OLEDs having the most time longevity but I might be mistaken on that.
 

Offline DavidAlfa

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6045
  • Country: es
Originally the blue compound on oleds had the lowest livespan * by a lot *.
Not sure nowadays, but probably still the weakest.
Hantek DSO2x1x            Drive        FAQ          DON'T BUY HANTEK! (Aka HALF-MADE)
Stm32 Soldering FW      Forum      Github      Donate
 
The following users thanked this post: onesystem

Online gamalot

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1328
  • Country: au
  • Correct my English
    • Youtube
I found my U1173B and did a teardown and RE for it. The circuit diagram was not carefully checked and organized so it looks a bit messy, but it should be readable.
 
The following users thanked this post: onesystem

Offline Tarloth

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: ar
Thanks Gamalot, with the pictures I can make an own cable. Somebody try the update with the bluetooth version? Thanks
 

Online Per Hansson

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
  • Country: se
Thanks for your work in this thread DavidAlfa and onesystem!
I bought a Agilent U1273Ax on eBay with condition listed as not working.
When I got it home the buzzer made no noise and the screen was dead but it pulled 18mA from my bench supply.
After some fiddling I managed to reset it to default settings and was greeted by its silly startup sound: it made me happy to know it works :)
So I ordered a display on TME, I choose white color because they had it in stock so it was delivered in just two days.
And now I have a working meter :)
So this is another tested OLED display source if anyone is looking and don't want to buy off Aliexpress or eBay :)

White: https://www.tme.eu/en/details/rex012864hwpp3n0/graphical-oled-displays/raystar-optronics/rex012864hwpp3n00000/
Yellow: https://www.tme.eu/en/details/rex012864hypp3n0/graphical-oled-displays/raystar-optronics/rex012864hypp3n00000/

 
The following users thanked this post: bson, SiliconWizard, Tarloth, DavidAlfa, onesystem

Offline Tarloth

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: ar
Per, how do you connect to the multimeter to update the firmware? Is that serial port in the top left corner equivalent to the optical port? Thanks
 

Online Per Hansson

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 432
  • Country: se
Hi, that's the internal debug port, I was meaning to buy the Keysight U1173B optical cable from TME but when I login as a private person it's no longer possible to buy it and I couldn't be bothered to do it from my company: their loss...
I have had this Sparkfun TTL adapter since forever, it is very convenient: in this case I power it from the multimeters own VCC, this creates the proper level shift voltage (black and red cables in the picture).
Then TX/RX is the yellow cables, I was meaning to close the meter back up (hence used long cables) but in the end I used a bench supply directly on the multimeters battery contacts to power it during the update...
The update tool that is linked on page-1 seems to have no problems to work with the USB to serial adapter I used (FTDI chipset) I guess it works with any serial device in Windows...

 

Offline Tarloth

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 146
  • Country: ar
Thanks Hansson, I think that it's not possible to use debugging port to update firmware. Thanks
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf