Author Topic: 8051: Open Source Disassembler  (Read 7107 times)

Offline sandeepkumarTopic starter

8051: Open Source Disassembler
« on: December 08, 2020, 12:55:40 pm »
Greetings
I have an AT89S52 Microcontroller development board which I am using to learn microcontrollers. I am new to electronics and similar stuff but I have some experience in writing programs. I had some free time lying around, so watched tons of Ben Eater Videos and learnt on making good Assembly language programs for the dev board. And I also decided to make an assembler for it. (I have zero idea/knowledge in compilers/assemblers). So, I started my research on the workings of an assembler. Till now, I have made a Disassembler (which converts the hex file into asm file). Yes, I got sidetracked but atleast I made something. I'd appreciate you to take a look at it(It is Open Source), and give me some tips and advice for the assembler.

Forgive me for not documenting and commenting the code :-\

Link to Disassembler page:
https://github.com/w0qs1/disgeek51
« Last Edit: December 08, 2020, 12:57:44 pm by sandeepkumar »

Online newbrain

• Super Contributor
Re: 8051: Open Source Disassembler
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2020, 02:54:35 pm »
It is Open Source
Thanks for your effort!
I have zero experience with 8051, but I have some with software licenses:
This is not really Open Source until you state which license it is under (e.g. BSD, MIT) and possibly put a corresponding license file in the repo.
The way it is now, probably the only allowed thing that one can do with the code is reading it.

Disclaimer: IANAL, TINLA.
Nandemo wa shiranai wa yo, shitteru koto dake.

The following users thanked this post: sandeepkumar

Offline MarkL

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2020, 04:52:28 pm »